By CAREY FOXTimes Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE — Saturday night proved to be a north vs. south battle for sprint car drivers as a number of Lawrenceburg Speedway regulars visited Lincoln Park Speedway after heavy rains claimed their own local show. On this night, the south came out on top as current Lawrenceburg Speedway points leader, Chad Boesplug claimed his first LPS feature win after Coleman Gulick suffered fuel pump problems battling for the lead.

In the UMP Modified division, no one is hotter than Brian Hayden right now as the picked up his fifth feature win of the season ahead of Kelby Simmons and Paul Bumgardner. In the UMP Super Stock 30 main event, Doug McCullough repeated as the feature winner and took home the special $500 payday over Troy Clark and Kenny Carmichael Sr. The bomber feature was another classic with David Bumgardner earning the victory after a late collision took out Blake Cross and Corey Gregory, who were running second and third. Sean Yakel moved into the runner-up spot ahead of Lloyd Walls.

The sprint car heat races saw Boespflug and Casey Riggs win with Kent Christian picking up the third heat race victory and the three started out front for the main event along with Casey Shuman.

From the drop of the green it was a intense battle for the lead between Riggs and Boespflug as the duo were side-by-side early on ahead of Christian and Shuman.

Boespflug was able to earn some separation as Riggs, Christian and Shuman had their hands full as Gulick arrived on the scene from a 12th-place starting spot. Gulick, a New York state native, quickly served notice that he was intent on reaching the front of the field as he reeled Boespflug in and made the pass with a perfect slider in turn four. Behind Gulick and Boespflug, Christian held down third as Riggs and Shuman were wheel-to-wheel followed by Jonathan Hendrick and Parker.

Gulick rode the rim with a solid lead as a three-wide race developed between Boespflug, Christian and Shuman.

Just as it looked as if Gulick was going to pull away, he slowed off turn one and pulled off the track as Boespflug took over the lead, survived a late re-start and scored the victory in the Creative Finishing, Callahan Brothers Racing, PT Risk Management No. 98 sprinter.

Christian came home second followed by Shuman, Ethan Barrow and Hendrick In the UMP Modified feature, Hayden was door-to-door with points leader, Paul Bumgardner, early on in the main event, but would eventually pull away and win convincingly in the Cyclone Custom Products,, All-American Karate Academy, Ottawa Instant Homes, NAPA-sponsored No. 2H.

The Greencastle, Ind. native built a solid lead over the final 10 circuits, leaving the fight for second to Bumgardner and Kelby Simmons with Brad Barrow and Justin Bex behind them.

However, Barrow made contact with the wall with several laps remaining to bring out a caution and Simmons was able to scoot past Bumgardner to take second over the final laps. Bex held down fourth ahead of Clint DeMoss.

The super stock feature was a dogfight over the opening 20 laps of the 30-lap main event as McCullough and Kenny Carmichael Sr. put on a show for the fans with lap-after-lap of side-by-side racing for the lead. Carmichael led at the halfway mark, but only by several feet as McCullough was hooked up on the bottom of the track.

The leaders got into lapped traffic late in the race and a late re-start gave McCullough a chance to slip past Carmichael for the point. McCullough wouldn’t let up, powering to victory in the Freeman Signs, Shaffer’s Collision, Patterson Driveline, Griffin Auto Salvage, Hobbs Chassis machine. Troy Clark came forward to score the runner-up spot late ahead of Carmichael and Mike Staggs with Slick Griffin coming from the back of the field to take fifth. The final feature of the night proved to be the survival of the fittest as Walls led early before a spin sent him and second-place Chad Nolte to the tail of the field. That left Cross and Bumgardner to duke it out for the lead over the second half of the race.

Cross was holding tight to the bottom of the track to hold off Bumgardner, but he was able to take advantage of a re-start to get underneath of Cross to snare the top spot. He was able to stay there as Cross gave chase ahead of Gregory and Dale Lewis. Another re-start saw Gregory attempt to get beneath Cross in turn three, but the room ran out and the two made contact and spun in the final laps. When the feature went green for the final few laps, Bumgardner held fast to the lead, holding off a challenge from Yakel. Walls moved through the field for third followed by Jeff Cast and Frank Cotton.

Bumgardner’s win came in the Wood Trucking, Bumgardner’s Auto and Truck Repair, Pizza King-sponsored No. 5 that also allowed him to extend his points lead over Gregory and JR Watkins.

Next week will be a regular show with sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers on tap. On Tuesday, June 28 the UMP Summer Nationals will hit Putnamville for a $6,000-to-win battle for late models and a $1,000 payday on the line for modifieds. Bombers will also compete on the racing card.

Lincoln Park Speedway Sprint car feature 1. Chad Boespflug, 2. Kent Christian, 3. Casey Shuman, 4. Ethan Barrow, 5. Jonathan Hendrick, 6. Kevin Thomas Jr., 7. Max McGhee, 8. Casey Riggs, 9. Joe Ligouri, 10. Matt Harms, 11. CJ Leary, 12. Gary Rooke, 13. Lance Hayden, 14. Seth Parker, 15. Logan Jarrett, 16. Shawn Krockenberger, 17. Coleman Gulick, 18. Rick Vaughn, 19. John Boyd, 20. Mark Harden B-main winner: Matt Harms Heat winners: Casey Riggs, Chad Boespflug, Kent Christian UMP Modified feature 1. Brian Hayden, 2. Kelby Simmons, 3. Paul Bumgardner, 4. Justin Bex, 5. Clint DeMoss, 6. Jacoby Hines, 7. Derek Groomer, 8. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 9. Schuyler Nahre, 10. Roger Mills, 11. John Martin, 12. Josh Boller, 13. C.J. Bryan, 14. Brad Barrow, 15. John Hipps, 16. Matthew Freeman, 17. Bradley Sterrett, 18. Daryl Herbert, 19. Wes McClara, 20. Carlos Bumgardner Sr. B-main winner: Roger Mills Heat winners: Paul Bumgardner, Brian Hayden, Justin Bex, Brad Barrow UMP Super Stock feature 1. Doug McCullough, 2. Troy Clark, 3. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 4. Mike Staggs, 5. Slick Griffin, 6. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 7. Kris Starks, 8. Paul Wright, 9. Travis Heramb, 10. Phil VanSant, 11. Joe Starks, 12. Helman, 13. Jason Massie, 14. Chad Nolte, 15. Doug Bryant Jr., 16. David Daniels, 17. Josh McDaniel, 18. Jamie Adams Heat winners: Mike Staggs, Troy Clark Bomber feature 1. David Bumgardner, 2. Sean Yakel, 3. Lloyd Walls, 4. Jeff Cast, 5. Frank Cotton, 6. Corey Gregory, 7. Raymond Funkhouser Jr., 8. Christian York, 9. Blake Cross, 10. Dale Lewis, 11. Josh Fagg, 12. Chad Nolte, 13. Michael Harris, 14. Kenny Treash, 15. Ron Smith, 16. Bob Farris, 17. Kevin Kemp, 18. JR Watkins, 19. Ron Wallen Sr., 20. Art Heminger, 21. Jordan Almanza B-main winner: Ron Smith Heat winners: Blake Cross, Corey Gregory, Chad Nolte