By CAREY FOXTimes Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE — Jason Feger used his familiar high-side line Tuesday night to wire the field over the course of the 40-lap A-Main at Lincoln Park Speedway to pick up a $5,000 payday in the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals stop for Late Models.

Feger, the 2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion from Bloomington, Ill., started on the outside of the front row following his heat race victory. Shannon Babb started on the pole after winning his heat race as well. Feger jumped to the lead from the opening green flag and made it stand up despite racing in heavy traffic over the final circuits. Feger would have to withstand a last lap challenge from Brian Shirley to pick up his first Hell Tour win of 2012.

Shirley started in sixth position, but made his way to the front quickly to challenge the leader as New Berlin, Ill. pilot, Brandon Sheppard, started in third and finished in the same position. Babb, the defending Summer Nationals champion, moved to the top groove late in the feature to capture fourth-place as Ryan Unzicker finished in the fifth spot.

A stout field of 39 UMP Modifieds were on hand to challenge for the victory in the Summit Modified Nationals event.

For Devin Gilpin, the 2012 season has already been one of remarkable success and on Tuesday evening he added a 22nd notch in his victory belt by scoring the win over Chad Combs and Paul Bumgardner.

Gilpin started in the third spot behind front row members Bumgardner and Mike Harrison, the 2011 Summit Modified Nationals event winner at LPS. From the opening green however, Harrison slipped back several spots as Gilpin moved up to challenge Bumgardner for the point.

The pair would race side-by-side over the first half of the feature with Bumgardner able to gain enough momentum off the high side to pull ahead down the front stretch over Gilpin. However, it was a move in turn four that enabled Gilpin to take over the lead as Bumgardner got stuck on the cushion momentarily. Once he got past Bumgarder, Gilpin began to power away from the field as Combs moved past Bumgardner into the second spot. Harrison gave chase in fourth as Gabe Menser dealt with the challenges from Matt Boknecht for the fifth position.

Up front, Gilpin built upon his lead on the way to picking up his 22nd feature win of the season. Combs would hold down the runner-up spot followed by Bumgardner and Harrison. Boknecht would take fifth followed by Menser, Tommy Shephard Sr., Richie Lex, who came from deep in the field, placed eighth ahead of Steve Lach and Nick Allen, winner of the first B-main.

In the bomber feature, C.J. Bryan added his seventh feature win of the season as he held off late challenges from David Bumgardner.

Harry Shepherd and Bryan battled early on in the A-main as Bumgardner chased the leaders from his third starting position. Mike Fisher Jr. was just behind the lead pack as he led Blake Cross and Doug McCullough over the first half of the race.

Bryan took over the lead spot as Bumgardner was able to move into the second spot, but was unable to find a way past Bryan. A caution flew with just one lap remaining to set up a final dash for the cash.
On the re-start, Bryan held true to his line and withstood Bumgardner’s last effort at making a pass. Shepherd would take third followed by Fisher, Ron Smith, Cross, Michael Harris, Josh Presley, Jeff Beggs and Josh Settles.

Thursday evening will feature sprint cars and a second class to be announced with general admission $10.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals
Late Model feature (40 laps)

1. Jason Feger, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Shannon Babb, 5. Ryan Unzicker, 6. Dennis Erb Jr., 7. Nick Bartels, 8. Kevin Weaver, 9. Mike Spatola, 10. Bobby Pierce, 11. Jerry Lierly, 12. Mark Voigt, 13. Jason McBride, 14. Frank Heckenast, 15. Greg Kendall, 16. Kellen Conover, 17. Rob Starkey, 18. Chad Stapleton, 19. Jon Henry, 20. Jeremy Hines, 21. Marty Cooper
Fast qualifier (among 21 cars): Heckenast, Unzicker, Shirley. Heat race winners: Sheppard, Babb, Feger

UMP Summit Modified Nationals
1. Devin Gilpin, 2. Chad Combs, 3. Paul Bumgrdner, 4. Mike Harrison, 5. Matt Boknecht, 6. Gabe Menser, 7. Tommy Sheppard Sr., 8. Richie Lex, 9. Steve Lach, 10. Nick Allen, 11. Craig Conyer, 12. Ray Bollinger, 13. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 14. Bradley Sterrett, 15. Tommy Shepherd Jr., 16. Joe Godsey, 17. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 18. John DeMoss, 19. Corey Partin, 20. Chad Evans
B-main winners: Allen, Bollinger
Heat winners: Harrison, P.Bumgardner, Gilpin, Godsey