By CAREY FOXFor The Banner Graphic

PUTNAMVILLE – Lincoln park Speedway managed to avoid the rain showers that plagued much of the mid-state Saturday evening and a talented field descended upon the Putnamville oval for a night of action.

Ninety-eight cars, spread over four classes, were on hand to start the evening including 23 sprint cars.

The A-main proved to be a thriller to the final lap as Brady Short led the final couple laps to pick up the victory ahead of Shane Cockrum, Brent Beauchamp, Kevin Thomas Jr. and Jon Stanbrough.

The lead order was completely up in the air with seven circuits left as pole sitter JJ Hughes led the first 15 laps.

Hughes’ lead survived several early caution flags that only served to keep his dogged challengers within striking distance.

With five laps remaing, Hughes was still in front of the field, but Beauchamp had jumped into contention on the outside. Stanbrough was hot on their tale along with Cockrum, Thomas and Short.

While Short was running on the outside of Cockrum for third-place with four laps remaining, a blanket could have been laid over the top-five cars. Hughes and Beauchamp were wheel-to-wheel for the lead with Short and Cockrum in tow. Coming off of turn two, Beauchamp slipped into the top spot as Short advanced to second-place with three laps remaining.

Beauchamp’s lead was short lived however as he got sideways in turn two and Hughes checked up. Short roared by into a lead he would not relinquish as Cockrum flashed by Beauchamp for the second spot.

Jeff Bland Jr. started eighth, but spun early and re-started from the tail after the opening lap. He would elbow up and notedly work his way back from 20th to finish seventh.

A field of 25 UMP Modifieds arrived at LPS Saturday night and Terre Haute’s Kenny Carmichael Sr. topped the field after getting past Greencastle native Travis Shoulders just past the halfway mark.

Jeff Deckard won his heat race and started on the pole, but would pull to the infield early in the A-main as Shoulders took over the top spot.

Shoulders started on the front row after winning his own heat race and had the bottom line figured out as Carmichael gave chase. Shoulders led through 10 laps as he and Carmichael gained separation from the third-place runner Roger Mills. Cullen Goodman was close behind in fourth-place with Brent Hudson and Tyler Loughmiller ahead of both Jake Humphrey and Roy Bruce Jr.

On the 12th lap, Carmichael made his move and got past Shoulders off of turn four and finished off his first win since 2014. Mills remained in third-place as Goodman placed fourth ahead of Loughmiller. Bruce finished sixth after starting 17th in the field.

Greencastle’s Doug McCullough made his way back to victory lane in the UMP Super Stock feature after starting on the pole and keeping that spot over 20 laps.

McCullough and Josh Boller started on the front row, but it was McCullough that got to the all-important bottom line first. From there, McCullough masterfully worked his way through lapped traffic over the final half of the race to gain his first win since his championship 2014 season. McCullough held off all of the challenges from Boller before lapped cars played a role. Once the lead pair started working through the field, McCullough was able to put some distance between his main challenger.

McCullough led Boller, John Shidler, Chris Harcourt and Chris Hillman across the finish line.

The bomber A-main proved to be a wild and woolly affair to the checkered flag as Roachdale’s Jordan Almanza took the lead with two laps remaining over Greencastle’s Megan Caveness and repeated as the winner.

Almanza gained the lead through five circuits over Cavaness as the pair pulled away from the rest of the field as Kyle Prince led Ryan Freeland, A.J. Smith and Curt Leonard.

Cavaness and Almanza swapped the point during several laps of the race, but the decision came down to the final five laps. Cavaness and Almanza were door-to door in pursuit of the win over the final laps. Cavaness led into turn four with two laps left when Almanza hauled his mount deep into turn four and the leaders made contact. Almanza kept his momentum as Cavaness brushed the outside wall off of turn four. Almanza pulled back into the lead and held it down for the last two laps to pick up his second victory of the season.

Smith came across the finish line in second ahead of Prince, Cavaness and David Wallen.

In the second bomber feature of the evening, Greencastle’s Mark Dickerson captured the victory getting past Alex Reid before a caution. From there, Dickerson cruised to the win ahead of Brazil’s Daniel Dupin.

This week will be National Armed Forces Night as those with a military ID will receive a $3 discount. Sprint cars, modifieds, super stocks and bombers are on the schedule.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature

1. Brady Short, 2. Shane Cockrum, 3. Brent Beauchamp, 4. Kevin Thomas Jr., 5. Jon Stanbrough, 6. JJ Hughes, 7. Jeff Bland, 8. Brandon Mattox, 9. Shelby VanGilder, 10. Tim Creech II, 11. Corey Smith, 12. Matt Brannin, 13. Brandon Morin, 14. Nate McMillin, 15. Lee Underwood, 16. Tyler Hewitt, 17. Billy Cribbs, 18. Conner Donelson, 19. Matt McDonald, 20. Brian Karraker
B-main winner: Lee Underwood
Heat winners: JJ Hughes, Jon Stanbrough, Brandon Mattox

UMP Modified feature
1. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 2. Travis Shoulders, 3. Roger Mills, 4. Cullen Goodman, 5. Tyler Loughmiller, 6. Roy Bruce Jr., 7. Brent Hudson, 8. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 9. Scott Ricketts, 10. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 11. Josh Settles, 12. RJ Pruitt, 13. Sydney Landes, 14. Gary Ricketts, 15. Casey Davis, 16. Bob Brickert, 17. Jake Humphrey, 18. Randy Shuman, 19. Josh McDaniel, 20. Jeff Deckard
B-main winner: RJ Pruitt
Heat winners: Jeff Deckard, Kenny Carmichael Sr., Travis Shoulders

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Doug McCullough, 2. Josh Boller, 3. John Shidler, 4. Chris Harcourt, 5. Chris Hillman, 6. Steve Hawkins, 7. Larry Raines, 8. Michael Clark, 9. Jack Campbell, 10. Randy Brawley, 11. Paul Wright, 12. Kenny Fields, 13. DJ Smiley, 14. Bob Sample 15. Scotty Massie, 16. Hayden Rogers, 17. Jeff Starks, 18. Wes McClara
Heat winners: Doug McCullough, Josh Boller

Bomber feature
1. Jordan Almanza, 2. A.J. Smith, 3. Kyle Prince, 4. Megan Cavaness, 5. David Wallen, 6. Josh Litton, 7. Cody Wright, 8. James Walters, 9. Scott Crouch, 10. Tom Cox, 11. Joe Cash, 12. Bob Farris, 13. Justin Bumgardner, 14. Curt Leonard, 15. Ryan Freeland, 16. Travis Heramb, 17. Ron Smith, 18. Scott Tidwell, 19. Glenn Ogden, 20. Jerry Hutto
B-main winner: Scott Tidwell
Heat winners: Jordan Almanza, A.J. Smith, Megan Cavaness, James Walters

Bomber second feature
1. Mark Dickerson, 2. Daniel Lupin, 3. Jared Litton, 4. Larry Hutto, 5. Alex Reid, 6. Bobby Tarrh Jr., 7. Michael Conner, 8. Zane Fields, 9. Jack Campbell, 10. Kyle Krupa, 11. Justin Massie, 12. Randy McPeak