Bookmark and Share

6/26/2012 - UMP Summer Nationals

Times Sports Editor
PUTNAMVILLE — Jason Feger used his familiar high-side line Tuesday night to wire the field over the course of the 40-lap A-Main at Lincoln Park Speedway to pick up a $5,000 payday in the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals stop for Late Models.

Feger, the 2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion from Bloomington, Ill., started on the outside of the front row following his heat race victory. Shannon Babb started on the pole after winning his heat race as well. Feger jumped to the lead from the opening green flag and made it stand up despite racing in heavy traffic over the final circuits. Feger would have to withstand a last lap challenge from Brian Shirley to pick up his first Hell Tour win of 2012.

Shirley started in sixth position, but made his way to the front quickly to challenge the leader as New Berlin, Ill. pilot, Brandon Sheppard, started in third and finished in the same position. Babb, the defending Summer Nationals champion, moved to the top groove late in the feature to capture fourth-place as Ryan Unzicker finished in the fifth spot.

A stout field of 39 UMP Modifieds were on hand to challenge for the victory in the Summit Modified Nationals event.

For Devin Gilpin, the 2012 season has already been one of remarkable success and on Tuesday evening he added a 22nd notch in his victory belt by scoring the win over Chad Combs and Paul Bumgardner.

Gilpin started in the third spot behind front row members Bumgardner and Mike Harrison, the 2011 Summit Modified Nationals event winner at LPS. From the opening green however, Harrison slipped back several spots as Gilpin moved up to challenge Bumgardner for the point.

The pair would race side-by-side over the first half of the feature with Bumgardner able to gain enough momentum off the high side to pull ahead down the front stretch over Gilpin. However, it was a move in turn four that enabled Gilpin to take over the lead as Bumgardner got stuck on the cushion momentarily. Once he got past Bumgarder, Gilpin began to power away from the field as Combs moved past Bumgardner into the second spot. Harrison gave chase in fourth as Gabe Menser dealt with the challenges from Matt Boknecht for the fifth position.

Up front, Gilpin built upon his lead on the way to picking up his 22nd feature win of the season. Combs would hold down the runner-up spot followed by Bumgardner and Harrison. Boknecht would take fifth followed by Menser, Tommy Shephard Sr., Richie Lex, who came from deep in the field, placed eighth ahead of Steve Lach and Nick Allen, winner of the first B-main.

In the bomber feature, C.J. Bryan added his seventh feature win of the season as he held off late challenges from David Bumgardner.

Harry Shepherd and Bryan battled early on in the A-main as Bumgardner chased the leaders from his third starting position. Mike Fisher Jr. was just behind the lead pack as he led Blake Cross and Doug McCullough over the first half of the race.

Bryan took over the lead spot as Bumgardner was able to move into the second spot, but was unable to find a way past Bryan. A caution flew with just one lap remaining to set up a final dash for the cash.
On the re-start, Bryan held true to his line and withstood Bumgardner’s last effort at making a pass. Shepherd would take third followed by Fisher, Ron Smith, Cross, Michael Harris, Josh Presley, Jeff Beggs and Josh Settles.

Thursday evening will feature sprint cars and a second class to be announced with general admission $10.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals
Late Model feature (40 laps)
1. Jason Feger, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Shannon Babb, 5. Ryan Unzicker, 6. Dennis Erb Jr., 7. Nick Bartels, 8. Kevin Weaver, 9. Mike Spatola, 10. Bobby Pierce, 11. Jerry Lierly, 12. Mark Voigt, 13. Jason McBride, 14. Frank Heckenast, 15. Greg Kendall, 16. Kellen Conover, 17. Rob Starkey, 18. Chad Stapleton, 19. Jon Henry, 20. Jeremy Hines, 21. Marty Cooper
Fast qualifier (among 21 cars): Heckenast, Unzicker, Shirley. Heat race winners: Sheppard, Babb, Feger

UMP Summit Modified Nationals
1. Devin Gilpin, 2. Chad Combs, 3. Paul Bumgrdner, 4. Mike Harrison, 5. Matt Boknecht, 6. Gabe Menser, 7. Tommy Sheppard Sr., 8. Richie Lex, 9. Steve Lach, 10. Nick Allen, 11. Craig Conyer, 12. Ray Bollinger, 13. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 14. Bradley Sterrett, 15. Tommy Shepherd Jr., 16. Joe Godsey, 17. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 18. John DeMoss, 19. Corey Partin, 20. Chad Evans
B-main winners: Allen, Bollinger
Heat winners: Harrison, P.Bumgardner, Gilpin, Godsey

Upcoming Events
A big LPS Thank you to the wonderful fans, drivers, sponsors, and employees for the awesome 2016 season!
Congratulations to our 2016 Points Champions!
Sprints 16
Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Shane Cockrum 24P 439
2 Kevin Thomas JR 1,4J 396
3 Nate McMillin 24 293
4 Jeff Bland 38,17GP 284
5 JJ Hughes 76J 274
6 Brady Short 11P 240
7 Tim Creech II 2C 229
8 Brandon Mattox 04,28 194
9 Shelby VanGilder 22V 182
10 AJ Hopkins 14H,42G 159

Modifieds 16
Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Kenny Carmichael Sr 92 663
2 Kenny Carmichael Jr 92C 611
3 Travis Shoulders 166 610
4 Randy Shuman 62 528
5 Jay Humphrey Jr 661 489
6 Derek Groomer D48 475
7 Brent Hudson 2B 429
8 Josh Settles 12H 424
9 Tyler Loughmiller 99T 410
10 Josh McDaniel 11M 404

Super Stocks 16
Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Josh Boller 05B 871
2 Steve Peeden P3 768
3 Jonathon Newgent 21N 757
4 Doug McCullough 19M 734
5 Larry Raines 4R 656
6 Paul Wright 42 588
7 Wes McClara 45M 580
8 Michael Clark 8 572
9 Jack Campbell 3,40C 571
10 Scotty Massie 17 490

Bombers 16 Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Jordan Almanza 14J 937
2 James Walters 34W,83P 832
3 Cody Wright 22W 825
4 David Wallen 59 822
5 Scott Crouch 55S 775
6 Curt Leonard 83 760
7 Megan Cavaness 5C 687
8 Kyle Krupa 46K 686
9 Ryan Freeland 72 639
10 Lenny Krupa III 46 602
General Admission $15.00
Pit Passes $30.00
Kids 10 and Under Always FREE At LPS!

Pit Gates Open at 3PM
Main Gates Open at 4:30PM
Hot Laps at 6PM and
Racing Starts at 7PM
Saturday, September 3**
The King of Non-Wing Sprints
End Of Summer Fireworks Extravaganza!
Every Sprint Runs A Feature $2000 to Win
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers
Saturday, September 10
Regular Show
Final Points Night
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers
Saturday, September 17
Champions Night
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers
Saturday, September 24
Regular Show
Racing-Weather Permitting
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers

Join us on our Facebook Page.