8/4/2012 - Race Recap by Carey Fox

Times Sports Editor
PUTNAMVILLE – Josh Burton has been one of the quickest rising stars of Indiana sprint car racing this season. On Saturday night, he parlayed a turn three slide job and excellent throttle control into his second feature victory of the season at Lincoln Park Speedway.
Burton was able to reel in the charging Jon Sciscoe over the second half of the A-main and made his decisive move with seven laps remaining to gain the win.
Sciscoe was the man to beat over much of the feature as he pulled away from his pole spot on the start to as much as a full straightaway advantage on the field. Burton was back in the ninth position when the green flag waved, but he worked his way forward on a slick track. With Matt Thompson and Brent Beauchamp battling for second, Sciscoe was able to get out to what appeared to be an insurmountable advantage. Burton moved forward into the sixth position as Brett Burdette and Conner Donelson fought for the fourth spot. With Burton masterfully working the bottom line, he dove beneath Beauchamp on a restart and gave chase on the leader.
As the laps counted down, Burton made his move on a slider alongside Sciscoe that gave him a slight advantage off of turn four. The pair battled to the wire as Sciscoe ran the cushion, but Burton made his momentum on the bottom stick over the final laps.
Burton crossed the line just ahead of the charging Sciscoe with Beauchamp in tow followed by Eric Smith and Burdette.
Much like the sprint car feature, the UMP Modified main event went down to the wire as well as Paul Bumgardner was able to chase down Kenny Carmichael Jr. down the stretch to claim his fourth feature win of the year at LPS.
Carmichael pulled out to a strong lead early, ahead of pole sitter Dan Lewellen. However, Larry Lambert and Craig Conyer were closely in tow with Bumgardner biding his time ahead of Brian Yeatman.
The lead pack would begin to separate as Carmichael built his lead over the second-place Yeatman. Lewellen was running in third before Bumgardner was able to overtake him, but the top-six spots were seriously in doubt through the middle of the A-main.
Yeatman and Bumgardner battled for the runner-up spot for several circuits before the bottom line paid off once more for Bumgardner. He moved into second and set his sights on Carmichael, who was on the cushion.
Several cautions slowed the field, but once the feature went green it was Bumgardner that was able to make the bottom work ahead of Conyer and the door-to-door fight for fourth between Yeatman and Carmichael Sr.
Both Carmichael Jr. and Bumgardner were side-by-side for the lead, swapping the top spot before Bumgardner edged past on the white flag lap. He was able to hold down that spot as Carmichael Jr. crossed the finish line in second ahead of Conyer, Yeatman and Carmichael Jr.
In the UMP Super Stock feature, Carmichael Sr. would cash in as he finished out front of a wild battle between five cars on the way to the checkered flag.
Chris Hillman battled his way to the front of the field after starting ninth and became a factor after getting past a charging group that included Dustin Shoulders, Steve Peeden and Doug McCullough. Carmichael would lead early after getting by Shoulders, but the point was far from secure over the duration of the race. Shoulders and Peeden provided early thrills in the fight for second, but McCullough and Hillman were close behind.
The main pack up front saw Carmichael and Shoulders fighting for the win late before Shoulders pulled off the track. The opening left by Shoulders’ misfortune was taken by a wheel-to-wheel fight between Hillman and Peeden over the final laps. Carmichael got all he could handle over the final lap from Hillman, but maintained the lead across the finish line.
Peeden was right on the leaders’ bumpers for third-place ahead of McCullough, Billy Frye, Roy Bruce Jr., Kenny Carmichael Jr., Mike Staggs, Josh Fagg and Josh McDaniel
The final feature of the night was led wire-to-wire by Tim Wright, who held off a race long challenge from Josh Foxworthy to win his second A-main at LPS. CJ Bryan fought his way to third from his 10th-place starting spot, David Wallen captured fourth followed by Dustin Shoulders.
This weekend will feature a regular show of sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers at Lincoln Park Speedway.
Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature
1. Josh Burton, 2. Jon Sciscoe, 3. Brent Beauchamp, 4. Eric Smith, 5. Brett Burdette, 6. Troy Link, 7. Bub Cummings, 8. Lance Hayden, 9. Patrick Giddens, 10. Conner Conelson, 11. Matt Thompson, 12. Garrett Abrams, 13. Drew Dorsett, 14. AJ Hopkins, 15. Randy Hickey, 16. Bradley Crone, 17. Warren Perkins, 18. Shawn Miller, 19. Ryan Pace
UMP Modified feature
1. Paul Bumgardner, 2. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 3. Craig Conyer, 4. Brian Yeatman, 5. Kenny Carimichael Sr., 6. Jacob Houts, 7. Randy Shuman, 8. Larry Lambert, 9. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 10. Mike Brown, 11. Gary Ricketts, 12. Michael Kettnich, 13. Jaymie Turner, 14. Rob Fuqua, 15. Brett Andrew, 16. Dan Lewellen, 17. Andrew Auler, 18. Josh Boller, 19. Glenn Andrew, 20. Ken Kelley
UMP Super Stock feature
1. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 2. Chris Hillman, 3. Steve Peeden, 4. Doug McCullough, 5. Billy Frye, 6. Roy Bruce Jr., 7. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 8. Mike Staggs, 9. Josh Fagg, 10. Josh McDaniel, 11. JR Watkins, 12. Dustin Bruce, 13. Dustin Shoulders, 14. Slick Griffin, 15. Kris Starks, 16. Chad Nolte, 17. Christian York, 18. Travis Heramb, 19. Chris Bennett, 20. Steve Ware, 21. Doug Bryant Jr.
Bomber feature
1. Tim Wright, 2. Josh Foxworthy, 3. CJ Bryan, 4. David Wallen, 5. Scott Tidwell, 6. Dustin Shoulders, 7. Tom Courtney, 8. David Bumgardner, 9. Josh Settles, 10. Tony Tidwell, 11. Kevin Kemp, 12. Jeff Beggs, 13. Blake Cross, 14. John Young, 15. Mike Fisher Jr., 16. Josh Presley, 17. Daniel Foxworthy, 18. Jerry Hutto, 19. Justin Minardo, 20. Ron Smith

Upcoming Events
A big LPS Thank you to the wonderful fans, drivers, sponsors, and employees for the awesome 2016 season!
Congratulations to our 2016 Points Champions!
Sprints 16
Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Shane Cockrum 24P 439
2 Kevin Thomas JR 1,4J 396
3 Nate McMillin 24 293
4 Jeff Bland 38,17GP 284
5 JJ Hughes 76J 274
6 Brady Short 11P 240
7 Tim Creech II 2C 229
8 Brandon Mattox 04,28 194
9 Shelby VanGilder 22V 182
10 AJ Hopkins 14H,42G 159

Modifieds 16
Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Kenny Carmichael Sr 92 663
2 Kenny Carmichael Jr 92C 611
3 Travis Shoulders 166 610
4 Randy Shuman 62 528
5 Jay Humphrey Jr 661 489
6 Derek Groomer D48 475
7 Brent Hudson 2B 429
8 Josh Settles 12H 424
9 Tyler Loughmiller 99T 410
10 Josh McDaniel 11M 404

Super Stocks 16
Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Josh Boller 05B 871
2 Steve Peeden P3 768
3 Jonathon Newgent 21N 757
4 Doug McCullough 19M 734
5 Larry Raines 4R 656
6 Paul Wright 42 588
7 Wes McClara 45M 580
8 Michael Clark 8 572
9 Jack Campbell 3,40C 571
10 Scotty Massie 17 490

Bombers 16 Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Jordan Almanza 14J 937
2 James Walters 34W,83P 832
3 Cody Wright 22W 825
4 David Wallen 59 822
5 Scott Crouch 55S 775
6 Curt Leonard 83 760
7 Megan Cavaness 5C 687
8 Kyle Krupa 46K 686
9 Ryan Freeland 72 639
10 Lenny Krupa III 46 602
General Admission $15.00
Pit Passes $30.00
Kids 10 and Under Always FREE At LPS!

Pit Gates Open at 3PM
Main Gates Open at 4:30PM
Hot Laps at 6PM and
Racing Starts at 7PM
Saturday, September 3**
The King of Non-Wing Sprints
End Of Summer Fireworks Extravaganza!
Every Sprint Runs A Feature $2000 to Win
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers
Saturday, September 10
Regular Show
Final Points Night
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers
Saturday, September 17
Champions Night
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers
Saturday, September 24
Regular Show
Racing-Weather Permitting
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers

Join us on our Facebook Page.