Bookmark and Share

6/7/2014 - Jeff Bland Jr. continues his feature win streak with victory at Lincoln Park Speedway

Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE While the car count may have been smaller than usual, Lincoln Park Speedway provided an electric surface for the drivers on hand Saturday night.

Jeff Bland Jr. has had a stunning two-week run with several wins over the last month. On Saturday night, he garnered yet another victory for the Burton Family as he rocketed to another win at Lincoln Park Speedway ahead of Chase Briscoe, Casey Shuman and Jerry Coons Jr. The win was Bland’s fourth since May 24 and second at LPS.

Though the field numbers were thin, the talented group on hand provided plenty of challenges for the redhot driver of the No. 04 Burton Masonry machine.

Carson Short suffered the misfortune of a flip on the opening circuit after starting on the pole. Rain began to sprinkle down on the field as officials hustled to get the entire show in ahead of Thursday’s Indiana Midget Week date.

Ahead of the stoppage, Briscoe was working on another top-5 run after his evening at Bloomington on Friday. However, as the field went green, Carson Short’s mount raised up off turn four and he flipped into turn one. Brady Short’s No. 11p was also gathered up in the crash on the opening lap.

When the field went green, Jerry Coons Jr. held the lead early, before Bland made his rocket trip on the cushion stick on lap eight. Once he found his way to the point, Bland mostly checked out on the rest of the field. The leaders routinely broke 13 seconds with Bland rolling the top to the tune of better than 90 miles per hour at 12.2 seconds per lap.

Midway through the A-main, Bland had the top spot locked down with Shuman and Briscoe rolling side-by-side in the top-3. With 10 laps remaining, Bland had the field wired as Briscoe attempted to close the gap. Shuman held down third ahead of a wheel-to-wheel battle between Coons Jr. and AJ Hopkins.

As Bland continued to dominate up front with five laps remaining, there was a final caution flag that re-set the field and gave Briscoe another shot at the lead.

However, Bland left little doubt on the restart, who would claim the win as rain continued to fall on the LPS oval. Briscoe, Shuman, Coons and Hopkins wrapped up the top-5.

Moments after the checkered flag fell on the sprint car A-main, the UMP Modifieds took the green flag and Randy Shuman battled his way to the lead past Wes McClara at the midway point and pulled way to the victory.

Shuman managed to open up a solid advantage after McClara led the first half of the feature. Once he got past in traffic, Shuman cruised to the win ahead of McClara, Dan Lewellen, Chad Combs and Duane Lee.

The UMP Super Stock field was stacked with multiple competitors representing the top positions amongst the national leaderboard.

Despite the increasing frequency of the falling rain, Aaron Fields held off a group that included Tyler Cain over the final circuits. Greencastle’s Josh Boller held fast over the late laps despite a strong run from Jake Leitzman, Dan McCullough and Doug McCullough.

The final feature of the evening was the Midseason bomber race with the $500 top prize claimed by Terre Haute’s C.J. Bryan, who fought his way through the early leaders to take the victory.

The feature proved to be a war of attrition as 24 cars started and less than a third finished the 25-lap A-main.

Bryan and James Walters were door-to-door over the first half of the race as Carlos Bumgardner moved into fourth just under the midway point. Tim Wright had rolled from 20th to fifth at that point of the feature, but had his hands full with Walters.

Up front, Bryan remained on point with seven laps left and was able to hold off challenges from Carlos Bumgardner and Walters. David Bumgardner advanced into the fray after an early spin had sent him to the back.

On this evening, Bryan picked up the win ahead of Carlos Bumgardner’s chase as Walters, David Bumgardner and Lenny Krupa III battled to the wire.

Thursday evening brings USAC Midgets for their Indiana Midget Week date as well as sprint cars and modifeds for Dixie Chopper Night at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature
1. Jeff Bland Jr., 2. Chase Briscoe, 3. Casey Shuman, 4. Jerry Coons Jr., 5. AJ Hopkins, 6. Kent Christian, 7. Brian Karraker, 8. Jason Robbins, 9. Chris Phillips, 10. Lukas Smith, 11. Matt McDonald, 12. Troy Link, 13. Chris Babcock, 14. Carson Short, 15. Brady Short
Heat winners: Coons Jr., Bland Jr.

UMP Modifed feature
1. Randy Shuman, 2. Wes McClara, 3. Dan Lewellen, 4. Chad Combs, 5. Duane Lee, 6. Gary Hayden, 7. Jake Humphrey, 8. Jake Byers, 9. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 10. Jimmy Hayden, 11. Donald Kiger, 12. Randy Milburn, 13. Brent Hudson, 14. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 15. Sam Wray, 16. Tyler Loughmiller, 17. Wayne Newlin, 18. Josh Edmondson, 19. Gary Ricketts, 20. Chad Nolte

B-main winner: Kiger
Heat winners: Lewellen, Byers, McClara

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Aaron Fields, 2. Tyler Cain, 3. Josh Boller, 4. Jake Leitzman, 5. Dan McCullough, 6. Doug McCullough, 7. Josh Fagg, 8. James Pfeiffer Sr., 9. Kenny Fields, 10. Gene Barnett, 11. Paul Wright, 12. Cullen Sandusky, 13. Larry Babbs, 14. Josh McDaniel, 15. Kris Starks, 16. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 17. Chris Campbell, 18. JR Waktins, 19. Travis Heramb
Heat winners: Leitzman, Boller

Bomber midseason championship feature
1. C.J. Bryan, 2. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 3. James Walters, 4. David Bumgardner, 5. Lenny Kruppa III, 6. Kyle Krupa, 7. Megan Cavaness, 8. RJ Pruitt, 9. Chucky Walden, 10. Tim Wright, 11. Mike Fisher Jr., 12. Kevin Kemp, 13. Jordan Almanza, 14. Cody Wright, 15. Ron Smith, 16. Dustin Colvin, 17. David Wallen, 18. Michael Williams, 19. Bob Farris, 20. Donald Smiley, 21. Mark Dickerson, 22. Eric Miller, 23. Jason Thornburg, 24. Scott Tidwell
B-main winner: Tim Wright
Heat winners: Kemp, Lenny Krupa, Smith

Upcoming Events
A big LPS Thank you to the wonderful fans, drivers, sponsors, and employees for the awesome 2016 season!
Congratulations to our 2016 Points Champions!
Sprints 16
Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Shane Cockrum 24P 439
2 Kevin Thomas JR 1,4J 396
3 Nate McMillin 24 293
4 Jeff Bland 38,17GP 284
5 JJ Hughes 76J 274
6 Brady Short 11P 240
7 Tim Creech II 2C 229
8 Brandon Mattox 04,28 194
9 Shelby VanGilder 22V 182
10 AJ Hopkins 14H,42G 159

Modifieds 16
Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Kenny Carmichael Sr 92 663
2 Kenny Carmichael Jr 92C 611
3 Travis Shoulders 166 610
4 Randy Shuman 62 528
5 Jay Humphrey Jr 661 489
6 Derek Groomer D48 475
7 Brent Hudson 2B 429
8 Josh Settles 12H 424
9 Tyler Loughmiller 99T 410
10 Josh McDaniel 11M 404

Super Stocks 16
Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Josh Boller 05B 871
2 Steve Peeden P3 768
3 Jonathon Newgent 21N 757
4 Doug McCullough 19M 734
5 Larry Raines 4R 656
6 Paul Wright 42 588
7 Wes McClara 45M 580
8 Michael Clark 8 572
9 Jack Campbell 3,40C 571
10 Scotty Massie 17 490

Bombers 16 Pos Driver Car # Points
1 Jordan Almanza 14J 937
2 James Walters 34W,83P 832
3 Cody Wright 22W 825
4 David Wallen 59 822
5 Scott Crouch 55S 775
6 Curt Leonard 83 760
7 Megan Cavaness 5C 687
8 Kyle Krupa 46K 686
9 Ryan Freeland 72 639
10 Lenny Krupa III 46 602
General Admission $15.00
Pit Passes $30.00
Kids 10 and Under Always FREE At LPS!

Pit Gates Open at 3PM
Main Gates Open at 4:30PM
Hot Laps at 6PM and
Racing Starts at 7PM
Saturday, September 3**
The King of Non-Wing Sprints
End Of Summer Fireworks Extravaganza!
Every Sprint Runs A Feature $2000 to Win
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers
Saturday, September 10
Regular Show
Final Points Night
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers
Saturday, September 17
Champions Night
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers
Saturday, September 24
Regular Show
Racing-Weather Permitting
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Bombers

Join us on our Facebook Page.