By CAREY FOX Times Sports Editor PUTNAMVILLE – One night removed from an emotional night when modified pilot Derek Groomer took the checkered flag at Bloomington Speedway sporting a tribute scheme for close friend Josh Burton, Steve Peeden repeated the feat in his super stock at Lincoln Park Speedway.
As Peeden stood in victory lane, and asked how many Burton fans there were in attendance, a large crowd cheered their approval as members of Burton and Peeden’s family shared their joy and tears.

Burton, who tragically lost his life following a sprint car crash recently, was honored prior to the feature at Bloomington on Friday and on Saturday evening as the A-main rolled in front of the crowd at LPS.

When the field went green, Peeden broke free after a three-wide battle with CJ Bryan and Doug McCullough during the early circuits of the feature. Once he found clean air, Peeden checked out on the field for nearly a straightaway victory.

As Peeden built his commanding advantage, Kenny Carmichael pushed forward and was able to get past Bryan down the stretch with McCullough and Scott Carrington edging into a battle for a top spot.

McCullough held on to a runner-up spot until late in the race when a tire appeared to go down as he settled for 12th overall. However, Carmichael was able to take advantage as he slipped past Bryan for the second spot and Carrington would later advance into the third position after a door-to-door battle for the spot with Bryan.

Kenny Carmichael Jr. would move up from a 13th starting spot to take fifth ahead of Dan McCullough.

Brent Beauchamp won the war last season in the sprint car division at LPS with a points’ championship, but admittedly, it was somewhat hollow as he did it without the benefit of a feature win.

On Saturday, he put those feelings aside as he overcame an early battle with Chris Gurley near the midpoint of the A-main and then rocketed away for the victory.

Beauchamp and Gurley had their hands full with Billy Puterbaugh Jr. over the early laps with Ryan Pace in a fight with Jon Stanbrough.

Nine laps into the A-main, Beauchamp broke free from traffic and began to pull away from the field in the Brownsburg Muffler, Sons of American Legion Post 34, Bakers Excavating No. 34. A caution flag would bring the field back to the Fairland, Ind. native.

On the re-start, Beauchamp remained out front of a three-wide tussle between Puterbaugh, Stanbrough and Brady Short, who had moved forward after a ninth-place start. A blanket could have been thrown over the chase for second through sixth late in the race, but it was Short, who picked up the second spot ahead of Stanbrough, Pace and Gurley with Puterbaugh edging out Brian Hayden.

The UMP Modified feature wasn’t without its share of controversy, but when the checkered flag came out it was Traverse City, Mich. native Collin Thirlby claiming his fifth win during a whirlwind traveling schedule.He would survive several re-starts with two laps remaining to get the victory in the Thirlby Automotive, Diamond Racecars, Print Works No. 47.

Ryan Thomas of Gosport, Ind. appeared to be in line for the win after starting second and holding off multiple advances from Hayden over the course of the A-main. However, contact between the two with just a couple of circuits remaining sent both frontrunners to the tail.

The caution opened the door for Thirlby, who started 16th after winning the B-main. He blasted through the field and was able to work his way past Jesse Cramer, Randy Shuman, Groomer and Eric Varner.

On a re-start with seven laps left, Cramer slipped over the cushion and would have to fight his way back to finish third as Jimmy Hayden made his way up into the fourth spot. Shuman would eventually end up fifth ahead of Dan Lewellen and David Bumgardner.

It’s not often that a B-main winner is able to come forward and pick up the A-main win, but on Saturday it would happen twice.

After Thirlby’s victory in the modifieds, Tim Wright of Camby, Ind. captured the ‘B’ after suffering from some mechanical woes during his heat race. He would start 17th in the feature and methodically made his way through the field to challenge the leaders.

Kevin Kemp started up front, but a group that included Daniel Foxworthy, Carlos Bumgardner Sr. and Wright quickly settled into a three-wide chase for the point. Behind them, Jacob Wright, Tom Courtney and Doug McCullough were also door-to-door.

Tim Wright was able take over the lead with Bumgardner challenging repeatedly ahead of Foxworthy. Eventually, that is the way they would finish with Wright claiming his first LPS win of the year. Tony Tidwell Jr. came up from 10th to place fourth with Joel Shores Jr. in fifth ahead of Kemp and Eric Miller.

Thursday night will see the return of the USAC National Midget Series for the second stop of “Indiana Midget Week.” Also on tap will be sprint cars and the UMP Modifieds.

Lincoln Park Speedway Sprint car feature 1. Brent Beauchamp, 2. Brady Short, 3. Jon Stanbrough, 4. Ryan Pace, 5. Chris Gurley, 6. Billy Puterbaugh, 7. Brian Hayden, 8. Chad Boesplug, 9. AJ Hopkins, 10. Max McGhee, 11. Keaton Dobbs, 12. Levi Shields, 13. Michael Terry Jr., 14. Jeff Bland Jr., 15. Tyler Waltz Heat winners: Gurley, Pace

UMP Modified feature 1. Collin Thirlby, 2. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 3. Jesse Cramer, 4. Jimmy Hayden, 5. Randy Shuman, 6. Dan Lewellen, 7. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 8. David Bumgardner, 9. Wes McClara, 10. Eric Varner, 11. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 12. Michael Kettnich, 13. Derek Groomer, 14. Brian Hayden, 15. Ryan Thomas, 16. Josh McDaniel, 17. Jimmy Cummins, 18. Gary Ricketts, 19. Paul Bumgardner, 20. Jeff Deckard
B-main winner: Thirlby
Heat winners: Thomas, Deckard, Varner

UMP Super Stock feature 1. Steve Peeden, 2. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 3. Scott Carrington, 4. C.J. Bryan, 5. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 6. Dan McCullough, 7. Harold Grayless, 8. Josh Fagg, 9. Mike Staggs, 10. Charles Vanness, 11. JR Watkins, 12. Doug McCullough, 13. Tom Tankersley, 14. Mark Blalock, 15. Jeff Shepherd, 16. Kenny Weaver, 17. Travis Heramb, 18. Josh McDaniel, 19. Tyler Loughmiller, 20. Kenny Fields, 21. Chad Nolte
Heat winners: Carrington, Doug McCullough, Bryan

Bomber feature 1. Tim Wright, 2. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 3. Daniel Foxworthy, 4. Tony Tidwell Jr., 5. Joel Shores Jr., 6. Kevin Kemp, 7. Eric Miller, 8. Michael Thompson, 9. David Kikendall, 10. Doug McCullough, 11. Bob Farris, 12. Curt Leonard, 13. Josh Settles, 14. Jacob Wright, 15. Ron Smith, 16. Tom Courtney, 17. Blake Cross, 18. Justin Minardo, 19. Mike Fisher Jr., 20. David Wallen
B-main winner: Wright
Heat winners: Wallen, Cross, Wright, Kikendall