By CAREY FOXTimes Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE — The Labor Day weekend meant that plenty of family and friends were in town and many of them met up at Lincoln Park Speedway to see both the aerial and on-track fireworks.

There were 128 cars in the pits, which included a stout field of 34 sprint cars, 29 UMP Modifieds, 27 UMP Super Stocks and 38 bombers.

New York native Coleman Gulick has been active in the sprint car ranks all summer long with four feature wins and 14 top-five finishes in Indiana. On Saturday night, his parents were in town after making the trip west and Gulick didn’t disappoint as he started on the pole and was able to hold off veteran Dave Darland to earn his sixth overall feature victory of the season. Jon Stanbrough was able to pilot the Phillips No. 71p to a third-place ahead of Shane Hollingsworth and Dickie Gaines.

Jeff Bland Jr. won the opening heat race with Stanbrough taking heat race two. Hollingsworth was the third heat race winner and Seth Parker held off Gulick in an exciting final heat race. Kent Christian won the B-main to advance to the A-main.

From the opening green, Gulick and Darland hooked up in a wheel-to-wheel fight for the lead that had the crowd on their feet. Gulick was able to hammer the throttle out of turn two to edge into the lead and didn’t look back.

The recent high school grad built a solid lead as Parker battled past Stanbrough into fifth behind Ryan Pace and Gaines before a caution re-set the field as Christian spun.

On the re-start it was Parker that challenged Gulick for the lead, but it was short-lived as he pulled into the pits several laps into what could have been a great battle for the win. With Parker sidelined, Gulick built a big lead over the second half of the feature before getting into lapped traffic. Darland closed the gap a bit over the final laps, but it was Gulick’s night to claim win No. 2 at Lincoln Park Speedway this season. Danny Holtsclaw was a big mover, starting 17th and placing ninth.

A second sprint car main was also run Saturday night and the fight for the win came down to a three-way tussle between Kentucky’s Cody Gentry, Keaton Dobbs and Mike Hagemier.

Gentry and Dobbs were nose-to-tail for the duration of the feature before Gentry was able to score his very first sprint car victory. Dobbs placed second ahead of Hagemier, Josh Burton and Brazil’s Daylan Chambers.

In the UMP Modified division, Richie Lex has been hard to beat lately and his hot streak had moved him into second-place in the UMP DIRTcar Modified Indiana State Championship behind Bloomington’s Clint DeMoss.

At LPS, Lex strengthened his challenge in the points as he stayed out front of a final lap crash that knocked Brad Barrow out of a second-place finish. The final corner mishap left Schuyler Nahre in second-place with Kenny Carmichael Sr. moving up to third followed by Dan Lewellen and Brian Hayden.

Barrow was challenging for the lead after several early cautions and actually had his No. 9H even with Lex on the bottom with under 10 laps remaining. However, Lex was able to hold on to the lead and went on to earn his third LPS feature victory. Carmichael reached third after starting 12th and Rob Fuqua placed seventh after starting in 18th.

Carmichael would return in the UMP Super Stock class and would factor in the chase for the lead after taking the green from the sixth position.

Carmichael and Steve Peeden were nearly even for most of the second half of the race, locked in a heated battle for the win. The fight carried into lapped traffic for the final few laps and Carmichael looked as if he was going to come away with a win. However, heading into turn three on the top of the track, Carmichael was held up by a lapped car just enough to allow Peeden to make his move into the lead and grab the win by a half car length in a wild finish. Travis Howe came home third ahead of Brad Cummings and Steve Hollars.

In the final race of the night, 20 cars made the A-main after scrapping through a 38-car bomber field and it was LPS points leader David Bumgardner that came away with a victory by holding off Scott Tidwell and last weeks’ winner, C.J. Bryan. In fourth-place was Bob Farris followed by Harry Shepherd, Brazil’s Chad Nolte, Michael Thompson, Donnie Baker and Dale Lewis.

The action returns to scenic Lincoln Park Speedway on Friday evening in the “Night Before the Patriot 100” event that will pay $2,000 to the sprint car winner, $1,000 to the winner of the UMP Modified feature, $600 to top the UMP Super Stocks and $400 for a bomber win.

On Saturday night, is the Patriot 100 for modifieds with $3,000 going to the winner of the 100-lap A-main. Sprints will also be on hand for $2,000 to win with super stocks and bomber on the card as well.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature

1. Coleman Gulick, 2. Dave Darland, 3. Jon Stanbrough, 4. Shane Hollingsworth, 5. Dickie Gaines, 6. Kyle Cummins, 7. Ryan Pace, 8. Casey Shuman, 9. Danny Holtsclaw, 10. Logan Jarrett, 11. Ethan Barrow, 12. Bub Cummings, 13. Eric Edwards, 14. Kent Christian, 15. Brian Lake, 16. Eric Burns, 17. Seth Parker, 18. Wes McIntyre, 19. Jeff Bland Jr., 20. Troy Link
B-main winner: Kent Christian

UMP Modified feature
1. Richie Lex, 2. Schuyler Nahre, 3. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 4. Dan Lewellen, 5. Brian Hayden, 6. Wes McClara, 7. Rob Fuqua, 8. Paul Bumgardner, 9. Gary Ricketts, 10. Brad Barrow, 11. Justin Bex, 12. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 13. Josh Edmondson, 14. Aaron Zellers, 15. Greg Amick, 16. Roger Mills, 17. Jimmy Hayden, 18. Broc Burton, 19. Bradley Sterrett, 20. C.J. Bryan
B-main winner: Justin Bex

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Steve Peeden, 2. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 3. Travis Howe, 4. Brad Cummings, 5. Steve Hollars, 6. Kris Starks, 7. Jake Byers, 8. Jeremy Wilson, 9. Rob Paris, 10. Slick Griffin, 11. Rob Fuqua, 12. Tyler Cain, 13. Jamie Adams, 14. Mike Staggs, 15. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 16. Travis Heramb, 17. Doug McCullough, 18. Dustin Bruce, 19. Paul Wright, 20. Chris Hillman, 21. Scott Carrington
B-main winner: Slick Griffin

Bomber feature
1. David Bumgardner, 2. Scott Tidwell, 3. C.J. Bryan, 4. Bob Farris, 5. Tom Courtney, 6. Harry Shepherd, 7. Chad Nolte, 8. Michael Thompson, 9. Donnie Baker, 10. Dale Lewis, 11. Tommy Tidwell, 12. JR Watkins, 13. Ben Williams, 14. Christian York, 15. David Wallen, 16. Josh Fagg, 17. Corey Gregory, 18. Kenny Treash, 19. Frank Cotton, 20. Josh Foxworthy
B-main winner: Dale Lewis