By CAREY FOXTimes Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE — Lincoln Park Speedway opened the gates to a full house of excited fans that were on hand to take in the first night of racing this season in Putnamville. An overflow crowd was treated to a sizable contingent of more than 110 racecars and drivers all in pursuit of an LPS feature victory.

Thirty-three sprint cars unloaded on Saturday night including several USAC regulars and one of last true outlaws in Bill Rose, who plans on touring with the World of Outlaws as well as running without a wing this season.

Rose showed that he hasn’t lost his non-wing touch as he claimed the first heat race victory ahead of Josh Clemons and Seth Parker. The second feature went to “The Peoples Champion” Dave Darland in the Jeff Walker-owned No. 11. A bit of foreshadowing was involved in heat number two as Jon Stanbrough battled to a runner-up spot ahead of Kevin Thomas Jr. and Bryan Clauson. In the third heat race, New York’s Coleman Gulick took the checkered flag ahead of Shane Cottle in the Cruz Pedregon-owned No. 75. Casey Shuman and Dakota Jackson wrapped up the top-four and in the final heat of the night, Danny Holtsclaw was the winner over Jonathan Hendrick and Dickie Gaines.

Lining up the main event, Rose and Darland led the field to the green with Gulick and Holtsclaw in row two followed by Clemons and Stanbrough.

Darland and Rose went wheel-to-wheel over the first half of the A-main as Clemons made his way to the front to give chase ahead of both Cottle and Stanbrough.

The field was halted nine laps into the main event when Seth Parker and Jeff Bland Jr. tangled and flipped on the front stretch without injuries.

Darland was able to make a pass on Rose to take the lead on the re-start, but Stanbrough was lying in wait to make his move.

Stanbrough made his move on both Rose and Darland to capture the point as Clauson joined the top-five after starting back in 14th position.

With 18 laps in the books, Stanbrough had begun to pull away from the competition in the Leer Motorsports, All-Star Performance, D&D Oil Chalk Stix, Weld Steel No. 21. Behind him, Clauson was able to chase down Rose off the final corner for the third position ahead of Cottle in fifth-place. Shuman moved up to place sixth ahead of Gulick, Thomas, Robert Ballou and Clemons.

In the UMP Modified feature, Matt Bex was able to get by Brian Hayden at the halfway point and opened up a lead he wouldn’t relinquish in the Tradelands Transport, Indiana Decal, Bailey’s Flowers, East Vending No. 31.
Early on it appeared as if Hayden would be the one walking away from the field as Bex was a distant second ahead of Chris Brewer and a two-way battle between Kenny Carmichael Jr. and Sr. Wes McClara crept into the mix after getting off to a rocky start from his front row starting position.

Bex was able to chase Hayden down as it became apparent his No. 2H was having some mechanical issues. Bex took over the lead with Carmichael Sr. leading McClara and Derek Groomer and Brewer.
Over the final five laps, Bex built upon his lead for a solid feature win ahead of McClara, Groomer, Carmichael Sr., Larry Lambert, who came up from 13th. Rodney Harris Jr. took sixth ahead of Eric Varner, Scott Ricketts, Kenny Carmichael Jr. and Carlos Bumgardner.

Four of the top-13 in the current UMP DIRTcar Sportsman National points were on hand Saturday night and it was the current leader, Troy Clark, who was able to add to his lead with a convincing A-Main victory ahead of Doug McCullough and Slick Griffin. Cullen Goodman came home fourth ahead of Kenny Carmichael Jr., Kenny Carmichael Sr., Travis Heramb, AJ Smith, AJ Clark and JR Watkins.

Clark and Carmichael Jr. started on the front row ahead of Goodman and AJ Clark.

Troy Clark took the opening green and led wire-to-wire leaving the battle for second up to the field.
Goodman was holding down second ahead of a side-by-side fight between Carmichael Jr. and McCullough followed by Griffin and Carmichael Sr. Clark continued to build upon his lead out front in the Hills Historic Painting, Thirty-one Independent Contracting, Scentsy Independent Consulting, Napa of Madison No. 13.
Clark went on to take his second feature win of the year after winning March 31 at Twin Cities. McCullough, Griffin, Goodman and Carmichael Jr. were in the top-five followed by Carmichael Sr., Travis Heramb, AJ Smith, AJ Clark and JR Watkins.

In the final feature of the evening, Galveston, Ind. native Craig Walker led all 20 laps and with it, claimed an extra $200 as there was an extra $10 per lap led during the feature. Walker held off Brian Sims, Landon Miller and CJ Bryan in his Competition Auto Body, All-Star Performance, H&M Farms, Coan Racing No. 3.
Walker survived several re-starts during the second portion of the feature as Sims tried to close the gap during the final laps to no avail. Jeff Shepherd took fifth-place followed by Lee Hobbs, Ronnie Pardue, Mark Smith, Marlin Burns and Donnie Matthews.

Next week will feature a regular show of sprint cars, modifieds, super stocks and bombers.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature

1. Jon Stanbrough, 2. Dave Darland, 3. Bryan Clauson, 4. Bill Rose, 5. Shane Cottle, 6. Casey Shuman, 7. Coleman Gulick, 8. Kevin Thomas Jr., 9. Robert Ballou, 10. Joshua Clemons, 11. Jonathan Hendrick, 12. Danny Holtsclaw, 13. Chase Stockon, 14. Scotty Weir, 15. Travis Welpott, 16. Brent Beaucahmp, 17. Dakota Jackson, 18. Jeff Bland Jr., 19. Seth Parker, 20. Dickie Gaines
B-main winner: Jeff Bland Jr.
Heat winners: Bill Rose, Dave Darland, Coleman Gulick, Danny Holtsclaw

UMP Modified feature
1. Matt Bex, 2. Wes McClara, 3. Derek Groomer, 4. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 5. Larry Lambert, 6. Rodney Harris Jr., 7. Eric Varner, 8. Scott Ricketts, 9. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 10. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 11. Kevin Gummere, 12. Chris Brewer, 13. Brian Amos, 14. Brian Hayden, 15. Craig Conyer, 16. Gary Ricketts, 17. Jake Waggoner, 18. Josh Boller, 19. Paul Bumgardner, 20. Brian Yeatman
B-main winner: Brian Amos
Heat winners: Brian Hayden, Wes McClara, Derek Groomer

UMP Super Stock Feature
1. Troy Clark, 2. Doug McCullough, 3. Slick Griffin, 4. Cullen Goodman, 5. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 6. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 7. Travis Heramb, 8. A.J. Smith, 9. AJ Clark, 10. JR Watkins, 11. Jake Byers, 12. Matt Jordan, 13. Josh McDaniel, 14. Christian York, 15. Tony Arthur Jr., 16. Doug Bryant Jr., 17. Kris Starks, 18. Bobby Davis, 19. Justin Hammond, 20. Brian Kempf, 21. Josh Fagg
B-main winner: Doug McCullough
Heat winners: Troy Clark, Kenny Carmichael Jr., Cullen Goodman

Bomber feature
1. Craig Walker, 2. Brian Sims, 3. Landon Miller, 4. C.J. Bryan, 5. Jeff Shepherd, 6. Lee Hobbs, 7. Ronnie Pardue, 8. Mark Smith, 9. Marlin Burns, 10. Donnie Matthews, 11. Megan Cavaness, 12. Jeff Cast, 13. Donny Ray Wampler, 14. David Dobbs, 15. Jerry Hutto, 16. Jeff Beggs, 17. Tanner Chastain, 18. Doug McCullough, 19. Marty Wilson, 20. Doug Klyn, 21. Michael Harris

B-main winner: Jeff Beggs
Heat winners: Brian Sims, Craig Walker, Landon Miller .