Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE — The USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series was on tap at Lincoln Park Speedway for the “Billy Marvel Classic” on Friday night.

Bryan Clauson got the evening started with an eye-popping, record-breaking qualifying run as he demolished the previous track record by more than two-tenths of a second at 12.034 to beat Jon Stanbrough and Chris Windom.

Casey Shuman claimed the first heat race with Shane Hollingsworth, Henry Clarke and Justin Grant each winning their heats as well.

Clauson was forced into the B-main, but advanced with a victory over Stanbrough with each moving into the A-main.

In the feature, Damion Gardner started on the pole alongside Dave Darland with Jerry Coons and Blake Fitzpatrick in row two.

An early caution re-set the field and on the start, Darland’s No. 39 had some throttle problems, which bunched up the field as he stopped, collecting Windom as well. Darland went to the pits as Windom started from the tail.

On the re-start, Clauson jumped to the lead as Fitzpatrick and Shuman fought for second as Levi Jones challenged for third. Up front, Clauson pulled out to a lead with Jones and Shuman in tow as Coons and Stanbrough closed behind them.

Up front, Jones reeled Clauson in on the top and moved into a side-by-side race for the point. Jones made his move in turn three to take the lead away as lapped traffic loomed. Jones caught what seemed like a break as a late caution came out to erase the threat of the lappers. However, it was Stanbrough who took advantage of the yellow.

Stanbrough closed the gap on Jones and got alongside the leader with several laps to go as Shuman joined the fray for a three-way battle to the line. The group went three wide with two laps remaining, but Shuman pulled to the infield as the white flag came out. Stanbrough and Jones went to the wire as Stanbrough edged out the USAC points leader to claim the victory in the “Billy Marvel Classic.”

Clauson took third, Tracy Hines took fourth ahead of Hollingsworth, Jerry Coons Jr., Fitzpatrick, Gardner, Jesse Cramer and Jeff Bland Jr.

In the UMP Modified feature, Paul Bumgardner caught Brian Hayden early on and took the lead with a pass on the bottom with Rob Fuqua, Matt Bex and Richie Lex in the mix.

Gabe Menser chased down the leaders and would give Bumgardner his biggest challenge at the end, however, the LPS points leader would pick up another feature win with Hayden in third, Lex and Bex were in the top-five.

In the UMP Super Stock feature, Chris Hillman got the lead early over Jeremy Hines and made that lead stand up, working the bottom masterfully. Hines, Steve Peeden and Randy Petro were in the top-four in a battle of UMP Points leaders.

Josh Burton, Kenny Carmichael Sr., Doug McCullough, Kenny Carmichael Jr., Scott Tidwell and Slick Griffin were in the top-10.

Hillman’s win came with Kay Hardwood Floors, Citizen’s Bank, C&D Tech, Bruce’s Lawncare and Hillman Racing sponsoring the No. 11.

The bomber feature came down to the wire with Dustin Shoulders edging Ron Wallen Sr. by a few feet at the finish line. The duo split through a couple of lapped cars off the final corner of the feature to create the wild finish. Ben Williams placed third, David Wallen and Tony Tidwell were in the top-five.

USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series “Billy Marvel Classic”

1. Jon Stanbrough, 2. Levi Jones, 3. Bryan Clauson, 4. Tracy Hines, 5. Shane Hollingsworth, 6. Jerry Coons Jr., 7. Blake Fitzpatrick, 8. Damion Gardner, 9. Jesse Cramer, 10. Jeff Bland Jr., 11. Ethan Barrow, 12. Dickie Gaines, 13. Chris Windom, 14. Jonathan Hendrick, 15. Henry Clarke, 16. Korey Weyant, 17. Justin Marvel, 18. Casey Shuman, 19. Casey Riggs, 20. Justin Grant, 21. Robert Ballou, 22. Dave Darland. SEMI: (12 laps) 1. Clauson, 2. Stanbrough, 3. Riggs, 4. Marvel, 5. Weyant, 6. Hendrick, 7. Ted Hines, 8. Rose, 9. Thomas, 10. Wingo, 11. J.C. Bland, 12. Schuerenberg, 13. Hopkins, 14. Williams, 15. Holtsclaw. NT

UMP Modified feature
1. Paul Bumgardner, 2. Gabe Menser, 3. Brian Hayden, 4. Richie Lex, 5. Matt Bex, 6. Rob Fuqua, 7. Greg Amick, 8. Daryl Herbert, 9. Greg Amick, 10. Carlos Bumgardner, 11. Craig Conyer, 12. Wes McClara, 13. Jacoby Hines, 14. Josh Boller, 15. Jimmy Hayden, 16. Donald Kiger, 17. Brad Robinson, 18. Jamey Henson, 19. Chris Brewer, 20. Jim Moore
B-main winner: Matt Bex

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Chris Hillman, 2. Jeremy Hines, 3. Steve Peeden, 4. Randy Petro, 5. Josh Burton, 6. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 7. Doug McCullough, 8. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 9. Scott Tidwell, 10. Slick Griffin, 11. Brett Smedley, 12. Scott Carrington, 13. Rob Paris, 14. Chris Bennett, 15. Donnie Shoemaker, 16. Jordan Almanza, 17. Randy Newport, 18. Steve Ware, 19. Travis Heramb, 20. Joe Starks

Bomber feature
1. Dustin Shoulders, 2. Ron Wallen Sr., 3. Ben Williams, 4. David Wallen, 5. Tony Tidwell Jr., 6. C.J. Bryan, 7. Frank Cotton, 8. Kevin Kemp, 9. Joe Jeffries, 10. JR Watkins, 11. Tom Courtney, 12. Larry Shelley Jr., 13. Corey Gregory, 14. Kyle Zike, 15. Kenny Treash, 16. Ronald Blake, 17. Sean Yakel, 18. Jeremy Payne, 19. Eric Miller, 20. Jason Thornburg, 21. John Grenier Jr., 22. Josh Presley, 23. Blake Cross, 24. Robert Blystone