Putnamville, IN – August 18, 2012. Kyle Cummins raced to victory Saturday night at the Lincoln Park Speedway. Cummins dominated in leading all 30 laps of the main event to become the first driver this season to win more than one Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car feature. The win was actually his third of the season at the 5/16 mile track. This one was worth $3,000! The Princeton, IN, driver was at the wheel of the Cummins Racing Maxim Sprinter which is sponsored by Vincennes University, Greenwell Auto Body, RE/MAX Midwest, and Cummins Racing Engines.
Chris Windom started in the front row alongside Cummins in the feature. Windom and Jon Stanbrough gave chase while battling each other for the second spot. Robert Ballou arrived on the scene after starting tenth and took second on lap 18. Windom fell back and dropped out of the race five laps later. Ballou would be the driver to mount a final charge to take the lead. The move came in turns 3 & 4 of the very last lap. Cummins was able to counter coming off turn four to take the win. Ballou finished second and Stanbrough third. Fans were able to see an interesting feature event in which the top three finishers were third, second, and first in MSCS points going into the night’s action.

Wes McIntyre finished fourth in the Baldwin Brothers 5 and Billy Puterbaugh was fifth in the Fox Brothers 53. Puterbaugh got tangled up with two other cars on lap 14 and had to restart at the tail. He had been running fourth at the time. His hurried late race efforts enabled him to recover a top five finish. Danny Holtsclaw was sixth. He and Puterbaugh were both making their first appearance of the season with the MSCS series. Braylon Fitzpatrick, Brady Short, Nick Drake, and Brent Beauchamp rounded out the top ten.

Brady Short was the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race. Short started 20th and finished 8th. Blake Fitzpatrick received the night’s Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award in finishing just outside the top ten. He was among the 4 drivers that transferred from the 12 lap B Main won by Logan Jarrett. All four drivers moved on up in the feature field to provide some good racing all back through the pack.

The three preliminary heat races were won by Jon Stanbrough, Joshua Clemons, and Jeff Bland Jr. Bland brought out the first yellow in the feature after taking a wild ride into turn one during which the car left the ground several times to sustain some damage but it never turned over. Clemons’ effort in the feature ended with a flat tire after he was involved in an incident that brought out a fourth and final yellow flag on lap 23.

The next event on the schedule for the MSCS Sprint Cars will be held on Sunday September 2nd. The Labor Day Weekend Challenge at Tri-State Speedway that evening will pay $3,000 to win. The UMP Dirt Modified Cars will also compete during the program.

Provided as News & Information for MSCS