Swanson Wins A Wild One At LPS To Make It 2 Nights In A Row In Victory Lane

30 sprints entered the gates at LPS on a beautiful weather Saturday with no chance of rain.  This setup a 4 heat program taking the top 4 with 1 consy taking 4.  Fast time overall after qualifying was Max Guillford with a time of 13.042.  The four heat races were won by: Jake Swanson, Shane Cockrum, AJ Hopkins and Jake Scott.  Jake drew a 5 for the invert of the feature which put Brayden Fox on the pole with Jake starting right beside him.  At the start of the feature it was the 24P of the Chief Shane Cockrum that put it to the cushion and took the early lead.  The cushion in turn 4 looked as tall a whole right rear heighth and Shane was getting great speed off of that ledge.  2nd thru 5th was having a fierce battle between Swanson, Fox, Hopkins and Scott while the 24P was starting to grow a lead of at least half of a straightaway.  Lapped traffic would come into play by lap 10 and this would definitely change the distance between 1st through 5th.  Lapped traffic was helping Jake cut the lead some from the Chief but a caution on Lap 19 would make things really interesting with a 6 lap shootout.  This kind of put it all on Shane and Jake because 3 lapped cars were put in between 2nd and 3rd.  On the restart Shane stayed on the cushion but the 5T was right there behind him and you knew it was about time for the slide jobs to start since the checkers were close to coming out.  From lap 22 to 24 every slider Jake threw on the 24p didn’t hold as Shane would get back under him and slide him back the next corner.  Coming to the last corner Jake Swanson threw a perfect slider to hold on the win by a very small margin.  Kudos to both guys because all 6 or 7 of the sliders were clean and neither car touched each other.  Following those 2 at the line was a strong run by Brayden Fox and AJ Hopkins.

The UMP modifieds had 20 entries on Saturday and fast time for the night was James Walters with a 14.738.  The start of their night was our makeup feature from the Baily Hicks night and it would be a hammer down kind of race with Rob Brickert holding on for the win over Derek Groomer and Matt Mitchell.  The regular night mod heats went to Derek Groomer, Chad Combs and James Walters.  James would then draw a 2 for the invert and that put Chad Combs and Derek Groomer on the front row.  Groomer who is leading the Southern Indiana points and is 7th in the nation in UMP points also took the early lead but during a caution he had to go off for a mechanical issue.  This would give the lead to James Walters but things would not come easy for the win.  Tyler Loughmiller who started 8th had made his way to 2nd and by lap 17 they were side by side coming off of turn 4 and the battle was on.  On the final lap Tyler tried to diamond off his entry which would leave him a shot to pull off the victory but James was able to hold on for the photo finish by 0.033 seconds at the line.  Kudos to both drivers who put on a great show for the fans in the UMP Modified division.

The Super Stocks had a huge field of 30 entries which means full bonus points up for grabs for UMP Sportsman Title. The night started with Wes McClara  having the fast time of 4 groups at 15.290.   To start the night was the makeup feature from the Baily Hicks night.  Austin Phelps would hold off Josh Litton and Wes McClara to win the opener of a big UMP points night for this class.  To start the regular night the heats were won by:  Wes McClara, Nick Kinnett, Justin Massie and Josh Litton.  Josh would then pull a 5 for the invert and that would put Larry Raines on the pole with Josh on the outside.  At the start of the feature the 89 looked strong and definitely looked as if he could pick up 2 trophies in back to back nights after his win at Paragon on Friday.  Sure enough Josh put together a great 20 laps and held on for the win over Justin Massie, Wes McClara, Travis Heramb and Austin Phelps.    Wes and Austin had another great points night as they battle it out for the UMP title.  We also have a lot of LPS drivers that are battling it out for that 3rd place in the nation and all the bonus points sure will help on nights like Saturday.

The bombers had 17 entries for the night and Katie Grigsby led the way with a fast time in qualifying at 16.209.  Heat races were won by Megan Cavaness and Josh Foxworthy.  Josh would pull a 2 for the invert which put him on the pole with Megan beside him for the front row.  Points leader Jordan Almanza would have to start 17th after damage from an infield tire during the heat race.  Since Katie got fast time in qualifying it was now Megan’s turn to be at the front and she definitely looked as if the 5C had the correct setup to earn her 1st A main of the season.  Her and CJ Bryan had a great battle the final 5 laps and Megan was able to hold on for the win barely over CJ at the checkers.  Following them at the checkers Jordan finished 3rd from 17th and Joey Raber and Josh Foxworthy rounded out the top 5.  Another awesome show at LPS with 97 cars and 6 features were done before midnight.   On to next week at the big curb LPS as it will be an exciting night as MSCS is back for a big show and the MMSA mini sprints are also joining the Mods, Supers and Bombers for a 5 class full of action night