By CAREY FOXTimes Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE, Ind. – Arizona native Casey Shuman has proven this summer that he can pretty much put anyone’s sprint car in victory lane and he added one more car owner to that list on Saturday night as he strapped into Andrew Elson’s No. 27a and won for the fifth time in the fourth different car this season.

Shuman scored the victory over a loaded field of some of the nation’s top drivers as 33-cars were on hand for the chance at another $2,000 payday. Heat races went to Dakota Jackson, last week’s winner Kyle Cummins, Jonathan Hendrick and Shuman. Coming through the B-main were Ethan Barrow, Seth Parker, Dickie Gaines and Dave Darland.

Shuman got to the front immediately as the green flag waved as a great battle quickly developed behind him with Jonathan Hendrick and Cummins wheel-to-wheel ahead of Jackson, Wes McIntyre and Jerry Coons Jr. Indiana Sprint Week winner, Chris Windom was fighting for position with veteran Tracy Hines several spots behind the lead pack.

Brett Burdette had an easy rollover that brought out the red flag, but he would return to the tail of the field after replacing a flat tire in the work area. With nine laps scored, Shuman took the green flag once more and build another lead over Cummins, Hendrick, McIntyre and Coons. However, Coons slipped over the cushion in turn four to bring out the caution flag and re-set the field with 12 laps remaining.

Cummins used the re-start to challenge Shuman with a big slider into turn four, but he couldn’t make it stick and, in fact dropped a position to Hendrick. The red flag would again come out as Logan Jarrett got upside down, but was uninjured.

The re-start with six laps remaining gave the field one more shot at Shuman, but he wasn’t going to make a mistake on this night. Shuman crossed the finish line for the victory ahead of Hendrick, Braylon Fitzpatrick, Hines, Jackson, Cummins, Shane Cottle, Windom, McIntyre and Darland, who came up from 20th starting position.

In the UMP Modified division, Richie Lex scrapped his way to the front, with position battles amongst the top-five for the entire A-main event.

Lex would come out ahead in a close fight with Paul Bumgardner, Kenny Carmichael Sr., Schuyler Nahre and Brad Barrow.

Wes McClara started on the pole and led during the early stages of the feature as a three-way fight for position began between Bumgardner, Lex and Carmichael Sr. Bumgardner chased down McClara and took over the lead with a powerful lap on the cushion. Carmichael came with him for a fight for the top position before a caution flag.

On the re-start, Lex moved up to second and was challenging Bumgardner at the halfway point. The two were side-by-side for several laps before Lex got a strong run off the corner and edged into the top spot with Carmichael looking for second ahead of Nahre, Derek Groomer and Barrow.

Once Lex took the point, the fight was for second-place and Bumgardner was able to nose out Carmichael for runner-up position. Nahre was fourth ahead Barrow, Groomer, Chris Brewer, Jimmy Hayden, Marvin Burton and Justin Bex.

The UMP Super Stock main event was next on deck and it would be Carmichael Sr. cementing a big night with a victory, holding off Steve Peeden and Ed Griffin, though Peeden would later be scored 21st in the field.

Carmichael and Peeden had to make it through some heavy lapped traffic late in the A-main with Carmichael masterfully splitting a pair of cars while staying up front with Peeden on his bumper. Griffin would slide into a fight for second as Doug McCullough joined the fray up front.

With five laps remaining, Carmichael remained up front, but Griffin and Peeden made it three-wide with one lap remaining. Coming off the final corner, Carmichael would pick up the win as Peeden spun McCullough coming out of turn four allowing Griffin to take second and Brad Cummings to be scored third. Mike Staggs crossed the finish line fourth ahead of Kenny Carmichael Jr. Cullen Goodman, Scott Carrington, Travis Heramb, Jamie Adams and Raymond Crone wrapped the top-10.

In the final race of the evening, C.J. Bryan celebrated his birthday in style by piloting the Burns Racing No. 8 into victory lane ahead of a strong challenge by season points leader, David Bumgardner and Dustin Shoulders.

Bryan held a late, two-car length advantage over Bumgardner with Shoulder and Scott Tidwell challenging each other with just a few feet separating the two for third position. A caution with a few laps remaining set the stage for Bumgardner to have one last shot at the leader, but Bryan would not relinquish the lead. Shoulders was able to edge out Tidwell for third as JR Watkins placed fifth. Harry Shepherd was sixth ahead of Josh Foxworthy, Michael Harris, David Wallen and Dale Lewis. Brazil’s David Wallen was ninth with Chad Nolte in 12th ahead of Kenny Treash.

A big bonus for several lucky kids came thanks to Tidwell Racing as the family donated four bicycles, two apiece for both boys and girls. The girls’ winners were Peyton Burton and Mallory Perry while the boys’ bikes were won by Garrett Lovins and Brycen McClelland.
Next weekend will be the King of Non-Wing race for sprints along with UMP Modifieds, UMP Super Stocks and bombers. There will also be the End of Summer Fireworks Extravaganza.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature

1. Casey Shuman, 2. Jonathan Hendrick, 3. Braylon Fitzpatrick, 4. Tracy Hines, 5. Dakota Jackson, 6. Kyle Cummins, 7. Shane Cottle, 8. Chris Windom, 9. Wes McIntyre, 10. Dave Darland, 11. Kent Christian, 12. Ethan Barrow, 13. Brett Burdette, 14. Shane Hollingsworth, 15. Jerry Coons Jr., 16. Seth Parker, 17. Chase Briscoe, 18. Logan Jarrett, 19. Coleman Gulick, 20. Dickie Gaines
B-main winner: Barrow
Heat winners: Jackson, Cummins, Shuman, Hendrick

UMP Modified feature
1. Richie Lex, 2. Paul Bumgardner, 3. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 4. Schuyler Nahre, 5. Brad Barrow, 6. Derek Groomer, 7. Chris Brewer, 8. Jimmy Hayden, 9. Marvin Burton, 10. Justin Bex, 11. Nick Rosselit, 12. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 13. Garry Ricketts, 14. Scott Ricketts, 15. Wes McClara, 16. Clint DeMoss, 17. Denny Schwartz, 18. C.J. Bryan, 19. Kevin Gummere, 20. Jeff Decdard
B-main winner: Barrow
Heat winners: McClara, Nahre, P. Bumgardner

Super Stock feature
1. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 2. Ed Griffin, 3. Brad Cummings, 4. Mike Staggs, 5. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 6. Cullen Goodman, 7. Scott Carrington, 8. Travis Heramb, 9. Jamie Adams, 10. Raymond Crone, 11. Brian Kempf, 12. Doug McCullough, 13. Zac Fuller, 14. Bill Wells, 15. Don Duncan, 16. Donnie Shoemaker, 17. Paul Wright, 18. Matt Jordan, 19. Kris Starks, 20. Josh McDaniel, 21. Steve Peeden
Heat winners: Carmichael Sr., Starks, Peeden

Bomber feature
1. C.J. Bryan, 2. David Bumgardner, 3. Dustin Shoulders, 4. Scott Tidwell, 5. JR Watkins, 6. Harry Shepherd, 7. Josh Foxworthy, 8. Michael Harris, 9. David Wallen, 10. Dale Lewis, 11. Corey Gregory, 12. Chad Nolte, 13. Kenny Treash, 14. Tony Tidwell Sr., 15. Doug Parker, 16. Michael Thompson, 17. Tony Tidwell, 18. Michael Ricketts, 19. Bob Farris, 20. Kevin Kemp

B-main winner: Tony Tidwell
Heat winners: Shoulders, Bryan, Gregory