By CAREY FOXTimes Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE – The Midwest Sprint Car Series was on hand at Lincoln Park Speedway Saturday night and provided a large crowd with an outstanding show as Kyle Cummins held off a late charge from Robert Ballou and Jon Stanbrough to pick up a victory. The finishing order should serve to tighten the series point standings even more as Stanbrough came in as the points leader ahead of Ballou with Cummins in third heading into the visit to LPS. Just 41 points separated the top-five drivers in the series before Saturday’s A-main.

Cummins would lead wire-to-wire after starting on the pole, but Ballou made his presence felt over the final five laps as Stanbrough had his hands full for the third spot in a three-way battle that featured Wes McIntyre and Danny Holtsclaw. Billy Puterbaugh joined the fray after charging past Holtsclaw for the fifth position.

Up front, Ballou caught up to Cummins over the final circuits and made a last gasp slider in turn four coming to the checkered flag, but Cummins held on to pick up the victory. Stanbrough beat the field for the third spot as McIntyre and Puterbaugh rounded out the top-five. Holtsclaw, Braylon Fitzpatrick, Brady Short came from 18th to eighth with Nick Drake and Brent Beauchamp rounded out the top-10.

In the UMP Modified feature, Brian Hayden was on the pole of the feature and wouldn’t relinquish the top spot over the 20-lap main event. Hayden had Derek Groomer on his bumper and on his door for much of the feature. However, Hayden was up to the task a week after blowing a tire while running in the top-five at Eldora Speedway in Ohio.

On this night, Hayden mastered his local track in Putnamville as Groomer was side-by-side with him over the last five laps of the feature. Craig Conyer was giving chase along with Randy Shuman, Paul Bumgardner and Bradley Sterrett. Over the final circuits, Hayden held down the top spot ahead of Groomer, Conyer, Shuman and Sterrett rounded out the top-five spots.
Steve Peeden has had some bad luck during the second half of the season, but he’s coming on as the UMP Super Stock season winds down.
At Lincoln Park Speedway, Peeden started on the pole, overcame Slick Griffin over the first half of the feature and cruised to his first LPS win of 2012.

Peeden was out front of a side-by-side fight between Griffin and Kenny Carmichael Sr. with Doug McCullough in tow. Mike Staggs and Dustin Shoulders were close behind the lead pack.

Peeden began to build upon his advantage as Carmichael set himself in second position. However, the real battle shaped up for third as Staggs, Shoulders and McCullough waged war for a top-five position after Griffin pulled off the track. On this evening, Peeden would take the top spot as he crossed the line in front of Carmichael and the charging Shoulders, Staggs and McCullough. JR Watkins placed sixth ahead of Josh McDaniel, Christian York, Kyle Laughlin and Bobby Davis.

The final feature of the evening was exciting as Harry Shepherd held off a bevy of drivers to pick up his first bomber win of 2012 at LPS.
Shepherd and Josh Settles were fighting for that top spot early with Josh Foxworthy and Blake Cross door-to-door for the third spot. David Bumgardner followed the leaders closely before he worked his way into third. A caution for a spin by Damon Harrell re-set the field.

On the re-start, Shepherd stayed out front, but with four laps remaining, Cross made a strong move into the second spot as Settles pulled to the pits. Bumgardner was third as Foxworthy fought alongside CJ Bryan for fourth. Over the last couple of laps, Cross had his sights set on catching Shepherd, but Bryan moved into the third spot past Bumgardner as the white flag flew. The leaders were three-wide with one lap left, but Shepherd was able to hold on to the point coming off the final corner. Bryan edged past Cross for the runner-up spot with Bumgardner in fourth and Marlin Burns in the fifth spot.

Next weekend, the sprint cars will take a one-week break as the UMP Modifieds take center stage for a $1,500-to-win event. The UMP Super Stocks and bombers will also be on tap.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature
Midwest Sprint Car Series

1. Kyle Cummins, 2. Robert Ballou, 3. Jon Stanbrough, 4. Wes McIntyre, 5. Billy Puterbaugh, 6. Danny Holtsclaw, 7. Braylon Fitzpatrick, 8. Brady Short, 9. Nick Drake, 10. Brent Beauchamp, 11. Blake Fitzpatrick, 12. Brian Karraker, 13. Logan Jarrett, 14. Kurt Gross, 15. Joshua Clemons, 16. Chris Windom, 17. Lance Hayden, 18. AJ Hopkins, 19. Jeff Bland Jr., 20. Josh Burton

UMP Modified feature
1. Brian Hayden, 2. Derek Groomer, 3. Craig Conyer, 4. Randy Shuman, 5. Bradley Sterrett, 6. Paul Bumgardner, 7. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 8. Jaymie Turner, 9. Chuck Walden, 10. Aaron Zellers, 11. Kevin Gummere, 12. Schuyler Nahre, 13. Larry Lambert, 14. Donald Kiger, 15. Andrew Auler, 16. Gary Ricketts, 17. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 18. Eric Varner, 19. Scott Ricketts, 20. Gary Barrow, 21. Rob Fuqua

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Steve Peeden, 2. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 3. Dustin Shoulders, 4. Mike Staggs, 5. Doug McCullough, 6. JR Watkins, 7. Josh McDaniel, 8. Christian York, 9. Kyle Laughlin, 10. Bobby Davis, 11. Steve Ware, 12. Travis Heramb, 13. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 14. Tyler Loughmiller, 15. Kris Starks, 16. Jacob Wright, 17. Robert Albright, 18. Slick Griffin

Bomber feature
1. Harry Shepherd, 2. CJ Bryan, 3. Blake Cross, 4. David Bumgardner, 5. Marlin Burns, 6. Josh Foxworthy, 7. Ben Williams, 8. Tim Wright, 9. Frank Cotton, 10. Kevin Kemp, 11. Josh Presley, 12. Kyle Krupa, 13. Mike Fisher Jr., 14. Josh Settles, 15. Tom Courtney, 16. Justin Minardo, 17. Ron Smith, 18. David Wallen, 19. Damon Harrell, 20. Jeff Beggs