By CAREY FOXTimes Sports Editor

The weather might have been a bit on the chilly side on Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway, but it wasn’t enough to cool off Kyle Cummins.

Cummins was practically untouchable all evening as he dominated his sprint car heat and then led wire-to-wire to top a hard charging Dakota Jackson to claim the winner’s share of the A-main money in the Vincennes University, Tim Mason Re/Max, Greenwell Auto Body-sponsored No. 3c.

Richie Lex proved to be nearly as tough in the UMP Modified A-main as he led from the opening green flag and held off a tough field of 33 veteran drivers in the Steve Thomas Racing, Bell Helmets, BSB Manufacturing, Black Widow race car. Lex was able to hold off Nick Allen’s repeated challenges over the entire 20-lap main event to claim the win as Paul Bumgardner, John DeMoss and Brian Hayden wrapped up the top-five.

Troy Clark came home as a repeat champion in the UMP Super Stock A-main, winning his third feature already in the young season. Clark also won two weeks ago at Lincoln Park Speedway in his Hills Historic Painting, Thirty-one Independent Contracting, Scentsy Independent Consulting, Napa of Madison-sponsored car.
The final feature of the night went to C.J. Bryan, who held off Harry Shepherd to win the bomber feature and cap a strong night for the Crazy 8 Racing stable as car owner Marlin Burns placed fifth in the A-main. Bryan’s win came in the Potts Tax Service, Pipe Puffer, Specialty Grafix No. 8.

The cooler temperatures thwarted a couple of Indiana race tracks from their scheduled shows so the pits were full in Putnamville as 28 sprinters were on hand Saturday evening.

Heat races went to Braylon Fitzpatrick to start the evening as he edged Dickie Gaines and Mark Perry III. Cummins won the second heat race ahead of Jon Siscoe in the Paul Hazen-owned No. 57 followed by Mike Spencer and the third heat was won by Danny Holtsclaw ahead of Josh Burton and AJ Hopkins. Jason Soudrette was the B-main victor to help set the field for the A-main.

From the opening green, it was clear that it was going to take a superlative effort from the field to get past Cummins as he rocketed away over the first few laps to build nearly a straightaway lead over Gaines, Holtsclaw, Jackson and Spencer.

A yellow at the midway point of the feature gave the field another shot at Cummins with 13 laps in the books. Jackson sat back in fourth-place, but had his eyes on the front. Cummins maintained his lead on the re-start as Jackson dove to the bottom and picked off both Gaines and Holtsclaw with a bold move to second. He gave chase to Cummins, over the final laps, but Cummins’ lead was too much to overcome at the checkered flag.
Cummins won in the CSI Shocks, Cummins Racing Engine sprinter as Jackson was second ahead of Gaines, Spencer and Braylon Fitzpatrick.

In the modified feature, Lex took the green from the pole position and was able to build a lead as he worked his way through lapped traffic early. Allen and DeMoss remained within striking distance as Bumgardner stayed close along with Chris Brewer, Josh Boller and Hayden.

Allen looked for room to challenge on the bottom, but Lex held fast to his line to take the win in the Schaeffers Specialized Lubricant,, Jackson Oil Solvent No. 7. Bumgardner advanced to third at the finish line as DeMoss and Hayden locked up the top-five.

Twenty eight super stocks were on hand in a tough field as Kenny Carmichael Jr. and Roy Bruce Jr. took the green flag. An opening lap pile-up sent six cars to the tail and re-set the starting lineup with Clark starting 10th overall.

Bruce and Carmichael fought for the early lead as Clark moved into a third-place fight with Slick Griffin as Mike Staggs and Cullen Goodman held top-six positions. Clark joined the top-three fight and made a masterful move to split the co-leaders and take over the point.

Clark and Bruce were locked into a fight for the lead and opened up a gap over Carmichael and Griffin with Staggs and Doug McCullough behind them. A caution flew with 14 laps scored that set up a re-start with six laps remaining. When the field went green once again, Clark held fast to the lead as Bruce challenged, but couldn’t get past the leader at the finish. Griffin took third ahead of McCullough and Staggs in the top-five.
In the final feature, Bryan wired the field despite challenges from Shepherd throughout. Gib Ham and Burns challenged each other for the third spot as Josh Presley and Scott Tidwell raced hard for a top-five position.
Up front, Bryan made the bottom work for him as he maintained the lead to the checkered flag in the B&B Lawn Care, U.S. Lawns, General J2LR Contractor bomber. Shepherd, Ham, Burns and Presley rounded out the top-five.

Next week the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Cars will be on hand along with Modifieds, Super Stocks and Bombers at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature

1. Kyle Cummins, 2. Dakota Jackson, 3. Dickie Gaines, 4. Mike Spencer, 5. Braylon Fitzpatrick, 6. Jon Siscoe, 7. Shane Cottle, 8. Brent Beauchamp, 9. Mark Perry III, 10. Seth Parker, 11. AJ Hopkins, 12. Josh Burton, 13. Matt Goodnight, 14. Ethan Barrow, 15. Jason Soudrette, 16. Bub Cummings, 17. Jimmy Simpson, 18. Chad Davenport, 19. Danny Holtsclaw, 20. Blake Fitzpatrick
B-main winner: Soudrette
Heat winners: Br. Fitzpatrick, Cummins, Holtsclaw

UMP Modified feature
1. Richie Lex, 2. Nick Allen, 3. Paul Bumgardner, 4. John DeMoss, 5. Brian Hayden, 6. Wes McClara, 7. Chris Brewer, 8. Matt Bex, 9. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 10. Eric Varner, 11. Collin Thirlby, 12. Craig Conyer, 13. Harold Grayless, 14. Wes Leigh, 15. Gary Ricketts, 16. Antero Tarvudd, 17. Josh Boller, 18. Brian Amos, 19. Roger Caveness, 20. Kenny Carmichael Jr.
B-main winner: Caveness
Heat winners: Lex, Brewer, Allen, Carmichael Jr.

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Troy Clark, 2. Roy Bruce Jr., 3. Slick Griffin, 4. Doug McCullough, 5. Mike Staggs, 6. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 7. A.J. Smith, 8. Bobby Davis, 9. Josh McDaniel, 10. Kris Starks, 11. Cullen Goodman, 12. Travis Heramb, 13. Dustin Shoulders, 14. AJ Clark, 15. William Burton, 16. JR Watkins, 17. Jeremy Helton, 18. Josh Turner, 19. Travis Butler, 20. Kenny Carmichael Jr.
B-main winner: Burton
Heat winners: Carmichael Jr., Bruce Jr., Griffin

Bomber feature
1. C.J. Bryan, 2. Harry Shepherd, 3. Gib Gam, 4. Marlin Burns, 5. Josh Presley, 6. Scott Tidwell, 7. Josh Foxworthy, 8. Michael Harris, 9. Megan Cavaness, 10. Brad Lindley, 11. Tyler Neal, 12. David Shepherd, 13. Sally Batchelor, 14. Jeff Cast, 15. Junior Shepherd, 16. Doug McCullough, 17. Tim Wright, 18. Josh Settles, 19. Marty Wilson, 20. Daniel Foxworthy
B-main winner: Daniel Foxworthy
Heat winners: Bryan, Burns, Presley