By CAREY FOXTimes Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE – The 13th running of the Patriot 100 for modifieds was the main event on tap at Lincoln Park Speedway with 32 cars on hand to chase the $3,000 winner’s share.

Kentucky’s Trent Young would lead the final five laps of the 100-lap affair after getting past Tyler Nicely and took the checkered flag for the win.

Dan Lewellen, Randy Shuman, Chad Kinder and Nicely were heat race winners on the evening as Rob Brickert and Nate Zimmer picked up the B-main victories to set the field.

Nicely and Kinder battled up front early, putting on a side-by-side battle for the lead during the first 15 laps. Nicely led the first 15 circuits before Kinder overtook him and set sail to hold the point over lap 16-41. Nicely was able to reel him back in and the pair swapped the top spot over the final nine laps leading into the 50-lap intermission. Behind them, Trent Young had crept into the lead group and went into the halfway mark’s work break in second-place ahead of Nicely with Randy Shuman, Kenny Carmichael Sr. and Derek Groomer.

After crews had a window to work on the cars, the field re-took the green flag or the final 50-lap segment.

Kinder held the lead for the first seven laps before Young pulled into the lead ahead of him as Nicely held tight in the third spot. Behind them, Shuman and Groomer were wheel-to-wheel with Carmichael in sixth-place.

Young began to open up a gap ahead of the field as he led laps 57-85. However, Nicely was beginning to make his final charge.

Running the bottom line, Nicely reeled Young in and took the lead on lap 86 and appeared set to run away to the win. Young stayed on top and it would eventually pay off handsomely.

Over the next 10 laps, Young slowly closed in on Nicely and pulled even with him heading into turn one with six laps to go. Young would make the pass heading into lap 95 and despite a late challenge from Nicely, picked up the victory.

Kinder would place third followed by Groomer and Shuman in the top-five. Tim Prince, Jeff Deckard, Roger Mills, Brickert and Carmichael Sr. wrapped up the top-10.

In the UMP Super Stock division, it was Steve Peeden taking home his 12th feature win of the season after taking the lead early over Wes McClara. Peeden opened up some breathing room after a caution and held off Josh Boller down the stretch to record the victory.

McClara came home in third-place ahead of Chris Hillman and Jonathon Newgent.

Thirty-eight bombers were on hand in pursuit of a feature victory on Saturday evening and when the dust cleared it was Cody Wright that came home with the A-main decision.

Wright started on the outside of Tyler Neal in the front row of the feature and when the green flag flew it was Wright that jumped to the lead. He would hold that lead with a steady hand the remainder of the 15th laps to claim his second win of the season at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Neal held down the second spot while remaining tied to Wright for the entire feature as Jordan Almanza quickly made his way up to the third position by the fifth lap. By the time a caution flew on lap nine, Wright, Neal and Almanza were the top-three as Kyle Krupa took over the fourth spot after Ryan Freeland pulled into the pits.

The grouping would stay the same over the final five laps as Curt Leonard claimed the fifth position at the checkered flag.

Gary Hayden was the winner of the second bomber feature of evening to wrap up the action at LPS as Zane Fields battled him to the wire. David Bumgardner crossed the finish line third ahead of Travis Heramb and Adam Farr.

Lincoln Park Speedway
UMP Modified feature
‘13th Patriot 100’

1. Trent Young, 2. Tyler Nicely, 3. Chad Kinder, 4. Derek Groomer, 5. Randy Shuman, 6. Tim Prince, 7. Jeff Deckard, 8. Roger Mills, 9. Rob Brickert, 10. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 11. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 12. Michael Fish, 13. Travis Shoulders, 14. Donald Kiger, 15. Jay Humphrey Jr., 16. Nate Zimmer, 17. Cole parker, 18. Josh McDaniel, 19. David Bumgardner, 20. Dan Lewellen
B-main winners: Brickert, Zimmer
Heat winners: Lewellen, Shuman, Kinder, Nicely

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Steve Peeden, 2. Josh Boller, 3. Wes McClara, 4. Chris Hillman, 5. Jonathon Newgent, 6. Larry Raines, 7. Paul Wright, 8. Justin Massie, 9. Scotty Massie, 10. Steve Hawkins, 11. Michael Clark, 12. Casey Davis, 13. John Shidler, 14. Ken Kelly, 15. Hayden Rogers, 16. Doug McCullough, 17. Jack Campbell, 18. Jerry Hepworth, 19. Justin Clodfelter, 20. Josh McDaniel Heat winners: Peeden, Newgent

Bomber feature
1. Cody Wright, 2. Tyler Neal, 3. Jordan Almanza, 4. Kyle Krupa, 5. Curt Leonard, 6. Scott Crouch, 7. Josh Litton, 8. James Walters, 9. David Wallen, 10. Andrew Pollock, 11. Mark Dickerson, 12. William Summers, 13. Lenny Krupa III, 14. Jason Hunt, 15. Justin Litton, 16. Ryan Freeland, 17. Tom Cox, 18. Bob Farris, 19. Jeff Beggs, 20. Jeremy Farris
B-main winners: Pollock, Justin Litton
Heat winners: Walters, Leonard, Crouch Almanza

Bomber second feature
1. Gary Hayden, 2. Zane Fields, 3. David Bumgardner, 4. Travis Heramb, 5. Megan Cavaness, 6. Jerry Hutto, 7. Harley Burns, 8. Charles Sloan, 9. Keivan Clodfelter