Lincoln Park Speedway

  • 1
Saturday 4/1/23 Season Opener

Saturday 4/1/23 Season Opener

The 2023 Season kicks off with the Indiana Open Wheel Racing Fest and Fireworks!

Swanson Takes The Big Win At The Indiana Open Wheel Racing Fest At LPS


Lincoln Park Speedway

Swanson Takes The Big Win At The Indiana Open Wheel Racing Fest At LPS

Swanson Takes The Big Win At The Indiana Open Wheel Racing Fest At LPS
34 Sprints would enter the pits for the big Saturday opener at LPS. There definitely were fireworks on the track and up in the sky both. It was a chilly day but the action heated up early with fast times of each group going to Jake Swanson(13.853), Shane Cockrum(13.506), Tmez (Thomas Meseraul) (13.659) and Alec Sipes in the last group ripping the best time(13.417). Only Swanson and Tmez would come from 4th to win their heats. The other 2 heats were won by Jake Scott and Tye Mihocko. After the heats the b main was won by Brandon Morin. The Invert was pulled and it was a 1 so Jake Swanson and Jake Scott would lead the field at the start for the 2500 to win IOW Racing Fest A main. The 5T entry would be hard to beat starting up front for sure. Early in the race Jake Swanson took the early lead over Jake Scott but the top 8 were both on the bottom and top so it was too early to tell if the cushion was the place to be or down by the tires. There were multiple wrecks throughout the race that took out some top notch equipment. The B main winner Morin brought out the red with a flip in between turn 3 and 4 which appeared that the big curb might have got the 98 entry. Thankfully Brandon was ok after the tumble. In another incident Shane Cockrum and Kyle Shipley collided also down low in between turn 3 and 4 ending the night for the 66 entry of Shane’s. Then there was an intense battle for 3rd and 4th which Tmez made contact with Jake Scott and unfortunately ended their chances for a good finish. On each restart Swanson kept hitting his marks perfect to fend off Casey Shuman in the Simon entry and “The Bull” Tye Mihocko in the 24P Paul entry. Both 24’s were side by side battling for 2nd which let Jake pull away and take the big win at the checkers. Following him at the finish was Shuman, Mihocko, Hayden(from 15th) and Ensign rounding out the top 5. The 2nd feature was won by Travis Berryhill and hopefully this will start some good luck for the 77 Sturgeon entry in the coming weeks.
The UMP Super Stocks has 20 entries. Fast times in their groups were Ryan Freeland(16.518), Josh Boller(15.874) and Austin Perry(15.814). The heats were won by Justin Massie, Josh Boller and Kenny Carmichael Sr. This would setup the A main and the invert of 1 was pulled again so Massie and Boller would lead the field to green. Unfortunately Boller had a problem on the start which ended his night. This would then setup a classic battle with Justin Massie and Larry Raines. They would run side by side for 3 straight laps. Massie was on the bottom and Larry was on the top. The R4 would get the edge using the top side and take over the lead from Justin. Unfortunately Justin would have to pull to the infield which looked like a radiator hose issue ending his great run. Larry would hold on for the 20 lap win over a hard late charge by Austin Perry. 3rd at the line was Kenny Carmichael Sr. followed by Austin Phelps(from 11th) and Ryan Freeland rounding out the top 5.
The UMP Modified Division had 17 entries. Fast times in the 2 groups were Jimmy Hayden(14.966) and Tyler Loughmiller(15.442) The 2 heats were won by Randy Shuman and Cody Wright. The invert for this class would be a 2 so Cody and Shuman would lead the field to the green. Unfortunately Cody would spin in turn 1 while running 3rd and with no where to go the 99T also was involved ending 2 fast mods’ night too early. This then would be a battle between Randy Shuman and Rob Brickert. The 51 of Brickert would take the lead. Then during a caution the 62 of Shuman pulled off ending his night. With just 5 to go Matt Mitchell had made it from 9th place to 2nd and was up on the curb and appeared to have a chance at Brickert. Rob Brickert would hit his marks good on the bottom and hold on for the 20 lap main event. Following him at the checkers were Mitchell, Tim Prince, Jimmy Hayden and Nick Richards.
The Bomber Division had 20 Entries also and the fast times were Jordan Almanza(16.603), Megan Cavaness(16.363) and Jeremy Tate( 16.601). Heat racers were won by Jordan Almanza, David Bumgardner and Corey Anstead. This setup the A main with an invert of 2. Almanza and Bumgardner would put on a fantastic show. They were side by side many times throughout the 15 laps. The green machine of David Bumgardner would take the win followed by Jordan Almanza, Joey Raber, Megan Cavaness and David Shepherd. This class has some outstanding talent and if you are a fan it gets more interesting every season on how stout this top 10 is.
The hornets had 6 entries and the heat race was won by Michael Lumley. The feature had 2 flips and definitely had a rough start but the win was taken by Ryan Shepherd. Thanks to all the drivers, teams and fans for coming on a chilly night to open our Saturday portion of 2022. Please join us as we open the Red clay of Bloomington Friday night with the Mod Lites as an addition and next Saturday at LPS is the first visit of the 305 wing sprints. The weather is supposed to warm up just like the action on the track has already started. Thanks again to our great fans for bringing the blankets to watch our fireworks in the 40’s. See you next week at LPS!!

Article Credit: Kenny Clark

Submitted By: Jill Spiker

Back to News

Our Partners

Bakers Septic Service
Circle City Pyro
Putnam County Life Operations
Dixie Chopper
Hendricks Regional Health
HMS Insurance
Hoosier Tire
Hoosier Towing
Indiana Open Wheel
Spiker Excavating
Lincoln Park Stone
McCloud Electrical
North Salem State Bank
Putnam County Hospital
Rock Auto
Sherrils Pest Control
Sunoco Racing

Contact Us