Lincoln Park Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, & Bombers 8/13

Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, & Bombers 8/13

Don't miss the exciting action at the "Capital of the Cushion!"

Saturday Night August 13

Saturday Night August 13

Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, and Bombers will provide the racing action!

Kyle Larson High Limit Open Presented by K1 Race W

Kyle Larson High Limit Open Presented by K1 Race W

Don't miss the chance to be apart of this inaugural race for the series on Tuesday, August 16th! Tickets on sale now at the Ticket Hoss App

Travis Heramb Gets A Big Win In The Super Stocks At LPS


Lincoln Park Speedway

Travis Heramb Gets A Big Win In The Super Stocks At LPS

Saturday night and without the regular open 410’s being able to be ran because of Indiana Sprint Week we had the Steel Blocks and the Mod Lites along with our other 3 classes. The Steel Block Sprints brought 11 entries to LPS. William Johnson(15.196) and Michael Clark(13.828) were the fast times for their groups. The invert for the heats was a 2. Chad Freeman and Tres Mehler won their heats from the pole. The feature invert was a 4 which put Michael Clark and William Johnson on the front row. Michael would take the early lead but he would not be able to hold off Tres Mehler from taking the top spot. They would both run the cushion on the edge for the remainder of the feature and Tres did an excellent job going through lapped traffic. Both him and Michael lapped most of the field and did an excellent job on the cushion. Tres Mehler got his 2nd win in a row at LPS and following him at the finish it was Michael Clark, William Johnson, Keivan Clodfelter and Jason Tirb.

The UMP Mods had 15 entries and the 2 fast times in their groups were Derek Losh (14.952) and Randy Shuman (14.810) The heat race invert was a 1 but Jimmy Hayden would get the jump on Derek in heat 1 and hold on for a win. Randy Shuman won the other heat from the pole and the invert that was pulled for the A was a 1 which put the heat winners on the front row. Randy Shuman looked strong early on the top along with Jimmy battling for the lead. Derek Losh started 3rd and about 5 laps in took the top spot away from the front row guys and took his Rocket to the top groove on the huge cushion and started to build his lead going for his attempt to get his 17th win on the season. Derek ran a hard 20 laps and held off the other strong run by Matt Mitchell who started 5th and got to 2nd quickly. Following Derek Losh at the checkers Matt Mitchell held on for 2nd, Rob Brickert 3rd, Tyler Loughmiller 4th from 9th starting spot and Jimmy Hayden held on for 5th. This was a good tuneup for the big one next week.

The UMP Super Stocks also had 15 entries and quick times went to Devin Wallen (15.512) and Larry Raines (14.784) The heats were won by Travis Heramb and Justin Massie. This setup the A main with an invert of 1 being pulled. This would setup another classic battle with these 2 just like a couple weeks ago. This time again Justin led on the top but the pretty Pink #7 was cruising on the bottom staying just a couple car lengths behind. They would go like this side by side for most of the 20 laps of the race. One bobble by #55 Travis was there to inch closer on the bottom. Sure enough the bottom was coming in and with 5 to go it was side by side at the line and anyone’s race. Travis would do it on the bottom and get the win over Justin Massie ending his 3 in a row feature wins. This was a big win for Travis and I do believe his 1st A main win in the UMP Super Stock division. He has always been a strong competitor and this night was his to take the checkers first. Congrats to the #7 team for the big win over Justin Massie, Larry Raines, Wade Goodale and Daniel Norman.

The Bomber division had 13 entries and the fast times went to Jordan Almanza (16.164) and Josh Foxworthy (16.149) This shows how close our top 8 or so Bombers are too each other. The 2 heat race wins went to Joey Raber and Josh Foxworthy. The invert for the A main was a 2 which put them both on the front row. These 2 up front are hard to beat and sure enough Josh Foxworthy won the 15 lap race over Joey Raber, David Wallen, David Bumgardner and Cody Tate.

The Hoosier Mod Lites brought 9 entries to LPS in a class that is growing. The heat race was won by Brandon Freeburg from Metamora, Illinois. In the feature he led every lap and took the big win also over Jeff Cast, Andy Tragesser, Ryker Williams and Jimmy Arthur. Thanks to all the teams and fans that came out Saturday. This leads us into the big one next Saturday at LPS. The Gary Ricketts “Buckeye Bob 33” is next Saturday at LPS and it is 2,000 to win with 200 to start the A main for the UMP Modifieds. There is also lap money and a trophy dash. The Mods will definitely be on the spotlight also with the high pressure of single car qualifying. We also will have the return of our 410 sprints since Indiana Sprint Week is over. The UMP Super Stocks, Bombers and the Hoosier Mod Lites will also be in action. See you next Saturday for a great night at LPS.

Article Credit: Kenny Clark

Submitted By: Jill Spiker

Back to News

Our Partners

Bakers Septic Service
Circle City Pyro
Putnam County Life Operations
Dixie Chopper
Hendricks Regional Health
HMS Insurance
Hoosier Tire
Hoosier Towing
Indiana Open Wheel
Spiker Excavating
Lincoln Park Stone
McCloud Electrical
North Salem State Bank
Putnam County Hospital
Rock Auto
Sherrils Pest Control
Sunoco Racing

Contact Us